Author Topic: Quick Gear Pattern Check  (Read 3621 times)

WisconsinYota

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Apr '10
    • View Profile
Quick Gear Pattern Check
« on: Jul 04, 2010, 06:57:11 AM »
Hey guys, this is my first attempt at setting up my own gears.  These are 5.29 Yukons from Marlin Crawler.  The gears originally had the LPH so I am using a pinion depth of around .250".  I was originally way too deep so I removed some shims and became a little shallow.  I then added .003" and came up with this.  I think it looks acceptable.  It will be going into the front axle that sees little to no road use in 4wd, so I set backlash a touch tight at .006" and wouldn't mind running the pattern a little on the deep side to keep the gears alive.  CBPL is at 150ftlbs..etc etc.  I've studied Zuk's Gear Install website (www.gearinstalls.com) and it seems this is an acceptable pattern.  What do you guys think?

Thanks!  :)
'87 Toy -  SAS, Marlin HiSteer, 5.29 Yukons, Welded Rear, Marlin Duals, Marlin 1600lb Clutch, 36x12.5" Super Swampers..Basic but functional (and expensive..)

79coyotefrg

• Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1452
  • Male Posts: 22,633
  • Member since May '02
  • Solid axle Toys Rule ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • HotSprings Superlift ORV park
Re: Quick Gear Pattern Check
« Reply #1 on: Jul 04, 2010, 07:32:54 AM »
its not bad at all,
i'll check my notes later and get back
AR-TTORA founder 22R bored.060,LCE stage II race cam http://pure-gas.org/    32/36weber, :driving: Marlin 1200 NON ceramic clutch, L52SHD+dualcase #2919, cable-locker, Yukon 5.29 gears, 35's, Allpro ebrake, front springs, and high steer, F150rears    RIP Nitro 9-29-07 :(  I sure miss him :down: MarlinCrawlerInc IS NOT affiliated with TrailGear in any way

crazykooter

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: -369
  • Male Posts: 1,418
  • Member since Apr '09
  • Located in Byron, CA
    • View Profile