Author Topic: NO POWER!  (Read 10958 times)

rexandfx

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -7
  • Male Posts: 50
  • Member since Oct '05
  • hill-billy ramp travel
    • View Profile
NO POWER!
« on: Oct 20, 2005, 08:13:37 PM »
Hello everyone, obvious nOoB here.

Ok here's the deal, 1986 runner, turbo, Auto, stock.185K
with rebuilt head and new main and rod bearings

I have a long, bumpy driveway. after about halfway down it at 10 mph,
when the engine reachees normal operating temp. Something happens and
it acts like it has a ton of back pressure or something ??? . and then I
have to fight to get to 4-5 mph :haha: .

Once of the street, It takes about 10 seconds to get up to like 25-30
then as you keep the thottle buried, it smooths out after a bit.

It has power after that, Not perfect by any means, but bareable. any
clues??

:thumbs: Thanks in advance, Rex

Until then I'll be over in the search section looking for similar problems
86 4runner 22rte- stock...for now
81 jeep cherokee widetrack fullsize- also stock...for now

toyrolet

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 62
  • Male Posts: 130
  • Member since Apr '05
  • guns dont kill people!!! people do
    • View Profile
Re: NO POWER!
« Reply #1 on: Oct 20, 2005, 08:34:20 PM »
Check into the Catylitic converter.  It might be plugged and not allowing the exhaust to get out.  you could disconnect the cat between the header and the cat to diagnose it if it runs great then there is your problem.  Beware it will be really loud so try and stay away from the Police station.
Redneck defined: Devine Lack of Sofistication
Life is sexually transmitted
The only difference between a rut and a grave is the depth

rexandfx [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Oct '05
  • hill-billy ramp travel
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Oct 20, 2005, 08:43:53 PM »
I had that off a few days ago to look at it and it's straight through...so there would be no blockage eh?