Author Topic: Problems with MSD ignition  (Read 6595 times)

1980yota

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -2
  • Member since Jan '11
    • View Profile
Problems with MSD ignition
« on: Aug 22, 2011, 06:16:36 AM »
Hey guys I have having some problems with my MSD that I need to figure out. First let me give you a background of my truck. I have a 1980 Toyota pickup that I saved from the crusher at a local scrap metal yard. I have had it about 3 years now slowly doing upgrades to it over time as I am a college student for one more semester. I completely rebuilt the engine which is a 22r and while I had the motor out I decided to pull all the factory wiring out, which was not only 30 years old but had more wires that weren't hooked up than where hooked up, and start over with all new wire. This was all done over last Christmas break.

I installed an MSD 6 Offroad box and blaster coil along with a fuel regulator to help on inclines and such. about a month ago I went out to start the truck and it wouldn't start I popped the hood to find my MSD box melted where the constant power wire goes into the box and black goo all over the inner finder where I have it mounted. I could actually pull the melted wire out of the box so I put another fuse in and had 12 volts on the wire. This told me the wire was fine and whatever happened must have happened in the box.

I installed another MSD box this time just a 6A model with the same blaster coil and it worked great. I got in the truck yesterday to start it and it would start again. I feared it was something to do with spark because I could smell gas so I check power to the box, both constant and switched, and I checked the ground. Everything checked good but with the key on I did not have power to the blaster coil which is hooked straight to the MSD box. So does this mean I may have another box bad?