Author Topic: tranny type and compatability question  (Read 3317 times)

BigBri

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since May '04
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
tranny type and compatability question
« on: May 16, 2004, 10:04:45 PM »
Hi everyone,
I'm new to drivetrains, and have a compatability question.

I want to know if my tranny, an auto, from an '86 22RE-turbo, will fit in an '89 V6 truck. And will that '89's 5-speed bolt right up to my 22RE turbo?  Might we have to swap bellhousings or something, or is it impossible?
Thanks a lot, Brian. 

kyle_22r

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 530
  • Male Posts: 1,233
  • Member since Dec '03
  • yellow beast
    • View Profile
Re: tranny type and compatability question
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2004, 10:54:45 PM »
i don't know about the auto tranny, but the R150F 5 speed from the '89 will bolt up to your turbo motor, but you need the turbo bellhousing.  you'll also need an adaptor plate to run gear drive cases and you need to convert them to 23 spline.

the straightforward way to go is to get a R151F turbo 5 speed, but they're expensive and hard to find

BigBri [OP]

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Member since May '04
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2004, 12:31:17 PM »
Cool, so so it looks like we could swap the complete tranny and transfer case, but just leave the bellhousings.  I this is a dumb question, especially around here :smack: but what shaft is the 21/23 splines refering to.  Is it the output from the tranny? not the input right?
Thx, B.

Paul_Elbisser

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 43
  • Male Posts: 329
  • Member since Aug '02
  • Supra Powered
    • View Profile
    • KraZyfly
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2004, 01:57:55 PM »