Author Topic: flux core?  (Read 35988 times)

kyle_22r

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 530
  • Male Posts: 1,233
  • Member since Dec '03
  • yellow beast
    • View Profile
flux core?
« on: Apr 17, 2005, 04:14:10 PM »
well, today i bought a 90A 115v flux core welder to mess with from harbor freight.  it actually doesn't work that bad, but has .030 wire, kinda likes to pop around at first.  would i be better off getting a good spool of some NR211 innershield in .035 diameter?  would that still be suficient for buzzing on smaller stuff, or should i stick with the .030?

it's kind of wierd getting used to using a gun with controls other than amperage(im a certified stick welder, well, until my cert lapses in a couple months :rivers: ). the more wire speed the hotter the weld, right?

i just had to buy one of these things after i could never find anybody to say anything but hearsay about them.  if it doesn't melt down after a few more welds it'll be a nice addition to my tools, at least until i can get 220 ran to my garage(detached) and buy a real 220v buzzbox :ladys-man:

Hyena

• I'm Legit!!!
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 2401
  • Male Posts: 6,715
  • Member since Feb '04
  • AKA Baja Brad
    • View Profile
Re: flux core?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 17, 2005, 04:44:35 PM »
the higher the heat the faster wire speed you should have.  but it all depends on the heat and how fast you move the gun.

TacoRunner

• Offline The 2K Group
  • Turtle Points: 19177
  • Male Posts: 2,324
  • Member since Feb '04
  • The 1st 3RZ swap 99'-01'
    • View Profile
    • 4wheelunderground
« Reply #2 on: Apr 17, 2005, 07:52:38 PM »
If you bought a 90 A 110V wire feed welder  and you say that its a flux core welder, are you sure that you can use gas with that thing. Personally I'd stay with the .30 wire cause you dont have enough amps for anything bigger.  You can use .35 but with that low amperage it may not do you any good.
www.4WHEELUNDERGROUND.com