Author Topic: My craigslist W56 may actually be a R151F, Need help with the swap.  (Read 9960 times)

2manytoys

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: 490
  • Male Posts: 583
  • Member since Nov '09
    • View Profile
Newbie here. My W56 has 404K on it and is leaking and starting to make noise. I bought what I was told to be a W56 out of an 88 4Runner to get me by until I rebuilt mine.

I think it's a R151F. The bellhousing has RX22R cast in it and has about a 2" hole in the bottom. It's a forward shift just like my W56. I separated the transfer case and it has a 23 spline shaft. It looks like pictures I have seen on this site too.

I have searched old posts which helped me identify the trans but I have some other questions. It looks like it will bolt right in but, will my clutch work? I found conflicting info in old posts. I have a billet flywheel and Centerforce clutch and would like to keep them.

The biggest problem I may have is that I don't have the shifter caps. I have the trans shift lever only. I don't think the W56 parts will work but, what about the transfer case top cap and shifter? They are both forward shift gear drive units.

Anything else I need to do to get it in my 88 pickup? Switches, wiring, drive line? I look forward to all your expert advice.
88 Pickup SAS'd, 3.4 V6, R151F Hybrid, Dual Ultimate, Triple sticks, 35's, 5.29's, HP front, V6 rear, Aussies, 63" Chevs, Anti Wrap Bar, Warn 8274 on Home Built Bumper

4WU linked 86 Xtra Cab build in progress

HDcruiser

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: 10
  • Male Posts: 580
  • Member since Dec '06
    • View Profile
I would call Marlin, the guy is a genis. I have called him in the past years for odd ball questions and has allways come through for me. It sounds like a R151 by your discription. Im pretty sure that the clutch should be no difference with a W56.

Pat

• Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 786
  • Male Posts: 944
  • Member since Jun '02
  • Oroville, Ca
    • View Profile