Author Topic: Transfer Case woes  (Read 3616 times)

heepofajeep

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Jun '06
    • View Profile
Transfer Case woes
« on: Feb 13, 2007, 01:33:27 AM »
Hi, I've got a marlin dual stock transfer case setup... I just recently took the truck on its inaugural run (to the field next door);  The setup worked great, except the transfer case pops out of gear when in 2WD Low.  If it makes a difference, the kit was installed approximately 2 years ago. 

The transfer case seemed to work fine in 4wd low, high, and low-low, but the middle case continues to pop out of gear when in 2wd low ( rear case in 2wd, middle case in low).  2wd high works fine.  I have the shifter boots/any possible obstructions moved out of the way, so I know that is not the culprit.

Also, the transfer case seems to be making quite a bit of gear noise, but as I have no experience with this truck, or really doublers in general, this could be normal?

Anyway, I would really like to go play around this weekend, so if you happen to have any suggestions or advice that would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!

Willy Mammoth

• Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Male Posts: 4,252
  • Member since Nov '04
    • View Profile
Re: Transfer Case woes
« Reply #1 on: Feb 13, 2007, 04:15:39 AM »
The noise should not be normal. You may have a bearing going out causing excessive movement and the poping out problem.

There is a stronger spring that you can install, but don't know it it by it's self will fix the problem.

You should pull it apart and check the bearings before you do damage that can't be repaired wirhout buying new gears.

You are 100% sure the floor or nothing else is touching the shifter while you are driving?
:usa: American by birth, redneck by choice. 

Making Of http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=6472.0  

Sightings Of  http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=10805.0

heepofajeep [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n