Author Topic: Supra Tranny overhaul- attn Marlin  (Read 19093 times)

reklund5

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 286
  • Male Posts: 1,263
  • Member since Nov '03
  • I love my Marlin Crawler!
    • View Profile
Supra Tranny overhaul- attn Marlin
« on: Feb 03, 2004, 06:43:32 PM »
Marlin-

This is a bit off topic, but I've got a 3rd generation Supra in addition to my 84pickup.  Recently, due to heavy upgrades and mods to the engine and an upgraded clutch, I managed to break the R154 transmission in the Supra.  I broke a thrust washer, and lost a bearing.  I rebuilt the tranny myself, using Toyota parts ( I'm a Toyota mechanic at a local dealership), and it worked great for like 3500 miles.  After a little stoplight racing, the same thing happened, and now I've got a borrowed tranny in the Supra while I figure out what to do.  I don't shift hard and have NEVER side-stepped the clutch or anything, so I'm a little confused as to why it broke.  I've heard many reports of 700 HP going thru these trannys with no problems, and I'm only pushing 450.  So here's the questions-

1.  Do you have access to upgraded thrust washers for an R series transmission?

2.  Would you be willing to rebuild my Supra tranny (It's an R154)and if so, what would it cost me?  What does shipping usually run?
'84 Hilux, locked, dual-cased, winched, EFI converted, 37" tired, half-doored (in the summer...)
'87 Supra, 400 HP.  smooth as glass at 130 'cause my tires are NEW!...
'92 F250 Diesel, tow rig, ATS Turbo, leveling kit, killer stereo

Marlin

• Inspirational Genius
  • Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 138
  • Male Posts: 856
  • Member since Sep '02
  • MC³ = 1,148:1
    • View Profile
    • Marlin Crawler
Re:Supra Tranny overhaul- attn Marlin
« Reply #1 on: Feb 03, 2004, 10:41:51 PM »
Was it the 1st gear thrust washer with the square cut grove that failed? And the center mainshaft bearing?