Author Topic: Tube Front Bumper  (Read 20017 times)

TheBandit

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: -14
  • Male Posts: 174
  • Member since Jan '06
  • MS in BS
    • View Profile
    • www.xtremefabricator.com
Tube Front Bumper
« on: May 18, 2006, 08:40:16 PM »
I am pretty new to the board and haven't posted anything of value yet, but figured I'd give it a shot with my upcoming first tube project. I'm a mechanical engineering graduate student and my undergraduate senior project was a hydraulic tube bending machine. After over a year building the machine, I'm finally ready to start my first project. 
:woohoo:
It took a lot of sketching and resketching, but I finally came up with this design.

After holding up some scrap pieces of bent tubing to the truck and scratching my head, I decided it would be worth spending some time in Photo Shop to see if I would like the design. Here is my 4Runner with a PhotoChopped bobb, paint job, and minimalistic exocage.

Okay, I like it! Time to get to work. The next step was a lot of careful measuring. I sketched out front, side, and top views of the key points on my 4Runner. Then I took lots of measurements and drew in circles to remind myself to offset to account for the tube. Next, I transfered my key points into Bend Tech Pro.

There are a few different ways to make parts in Bend Tech Pro. I like to get all my pick points figured out, then connect the dots. You can also make each piece individually in EZ3D and then couple them together.

Here's what it looks like using 1-3/4" tubing and a 6" CLR.

There are two pieces with four bends. The very uppermost piece (number 6 below) is a multi-plane part with four bends. It's hard to see but there are some smaller bends just outside of the two middle bars. I circled them in red.

I don't have a notcher and since I have NO EXPERIENCE with tubing, I'm going to rely heavily on Bend Tech Pro's tube coping feature.