Author Topic: Just got laid off...Anyone have any job leads?  (Read 3143 times)

BUDDERS

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 15
  • Male Posts: 1,335
  • Member since Jul '05
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Just got laid off...Anyone have any job leads?
« on: Sep 27, 2010, 04:08:41 PM »
I've worked for my company for 2.5 years now and finally got laid off.  2 days after I started there, we were bought out by a large company that anounced they would eventually move everything to San Jose'.  Well, I've survived 4 rounds of layoffs and I get a month of severance since they will be closing the doors soon.  The biggest bummer is, I can't use the machine shop after hours anymore to make parts for my truck!  So now I'm looking for a job.....

I was a Toyota and Lexus mechanic for 11 years and most recently, I've been a r&d tech for a medical device company.  I'd like to stay in the medical device field, but am considering other options like being a commercial refrigeration tech or a elevator repair man. 

Anyone have any leads?  My wife and I are willing to move if the situation is right - our condo is ready to be put on the market anyway.
"A friend will help you move.  A real friend will help you move a body."

"They call it PMS because Mad Cow Disease was already taken"

"Hopefully, if I crap in a gopher hole, one doesn't try and nibble at my taint"  - my freind Fat Tony

"I once read somewhere that drinking causes violence, so I quit reading"

P-DiseToy24

• Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: -230
  • Male Posts: 868
  • Member since Aug '09
  • DDNB!
    • View Profile
Re: Just got laid off...Anyone have any job leads?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 27, 2010, 04:32:30 PM »
Shoot man sorry to hear about that hope the Job hunting goes smooth.

Cheesemaker

• Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1363
  • Male Posts: 4,525
  • Member since Sep '04
  • Dean Tyler, you were an inspiration to all!!
    • View Profile