Author Topic: 1984 22r-re swap  (Read 1914 times)

Mudder

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: 3487
  • Member since May '15
    • View Profile
1984 22r-re swap
« on: May 24, 2015, 12:57:40 AM »
Thought I'd post this up here. I've been running this for about 4 months now and its been great  I used the whole wiring harness from an 89 automatic from front to back. If you've got any questions I'll try to answer them as best as I can.

In my quest to make my 1984 Toyota pickup, I read about doing an EFI (Electronic Fuel injection) swap. At first I was happy with the carb, but with it acting up and running awfully, I wanted to do an EFI swap.  I have a wrecked 1989 Toyota pickup 22re auto tranny that I used for parts on this swap. This swap seems complicated and something a trained professional should do, but that’s false. If you do it the right way, even someone with little knowledge of mechanical experience can do it. I’ve been wrenching on my own truck for over a year, first with my ’89 now with my ’84, so I felt up to the task. Wiring isn’t something I like, so my way around doing it was to replace the entire wiring front to back with the harness out of the 89. Parts I used for this were:
·         Wiring harness from tail lights to body plug inside the cab under the passenger’s seat
·         Cab wiring harness that connects to the rear harness
·         Engine wiring harness
·         Computer
·         Gauge Cluster
·         Upper intake
·         Lower intake
·         Knock sensor
·         Cross over Air Tube
·         Air Box
·         Radiator*
·         Thermo Stat
·         Alternator bracket*
·         Alternator*
·         Metal Fuel Line*
·         Fuel Filter*
·         1985 Toyota pickup gas tank
·         Fuel Pump
·         Fuel Sender Unit
·         Charcoal Canister Bracket*
·         Distributor
·         Coil
·         Items marked with a * means I recommend doing these but are not required for the swap
Steps