Author Topic: Project RAMBUS  (Read 4894 times)

46&2

• Hillbilly
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 8
  • Male Posts: 4,834
  • Member since Dec '05
  • California livin'
    • View Profile
Project RAMBUS
« on: Aug 15, 2008, 12:26:13 PM »
Alright, so this is my dad's 1990 Chevy Suburban, but due to a certain train of events this may end up being my new tow rig/project vehicle to tinker with when not working on the 4runner. Let me give you a quick history up until this point.

My parents bought this truck brand new off a Chevrolet show room floor back in 1989. It had something like 123 miles on the OD. Optioned out too the max: front and rear AC, third row seat, factory limo tint, etc. Lots of bells and whistles. Fast forward to 2002, I was a sophomore in high school and needed a vehicle, so when my dad wasnt using it this was basically my "first" car. Lot of good memories in this thing.  :yupyup:

Now we come to yesterday. So far this thing was pushing 295,000 on the odometer on a completely stock, original drivetrain: original 350, th350 (i believe is the tranny, not 100% sure), tcase, front axle, and drivelines. I was doing a burnout on pavement when I was 16 and I blew up the rear ring and pinion.  :hammerhead: Otherwise, ALL original.

My dad gives me a call in the afternoon and says he broke down on the side of the road because he blew a radiator hose. So I tell him I will get my tools and come replace the hose for him. He calls back about 2 minutes later and tells me the radiator hose is the least of his concerns because he is pretty sure he blew the engine up.  :headscratch:

So I get there and find out my dumbass old man blew a radiator hose, knew it, but for some reason decided to keep driving. He ended up driving 5 miles with a silver dollar sized hole in his lower radiator hose before the truck finally died on the side of the road.  :maddest: :mad: :thumbdown: :shake: