Author Topic: newbie 2 codes?  (Read 1576 times)

crapyota

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: -125
  • Male Posts: 143
  • Member since Nov '05
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
    • www.nw-wheelers.com
newbie 2 codes?
« on: Apr 18, 2006, 01:58:47 PM »
to start off i want to say my truck runs good ,feels like all the hamsters are running at their best pace.
so i just did a tune up new plugs, wires,cap,and rotor. i set the timing after figuring out the jumper thing on the diagnostics port(t-e1)and its set at about 6 degrees nothing fancy. but after reading all this about the check engine light flashing gives you codes, i thought i would try it out.. what i found was the check engine light flashed then a pause then 4 flashes a pause 4 more flashes then a short pause and 3 flashes. I'm new to all this efi and diagnostic ports(give me my big block and a carb and i can tune it sweet!). so should i be worried? the thing runs good like i stated and i have looked these up a little and it says stuff like no starter signal or ign. signal. just trying to stop a problem before it becomes a big one i guess. or am i just worried for nothing.   
                                                 thanks
                                                         Bill
88-4runner 35 boggers,5.29s,locked in rear. finally got a sas!!!! pics at photobucket(crapyota)
checkout www.nw-wheelers.com

BLACKDOG

• 3.0 Killer
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 718
  • Male Posts: 7,644
  • Member since Aug '04
  • I used to fit
    • View Profile
Re: newbie 2 codes?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 18, 2006, 02:29:38 PM »
v6 or 4banger?  I'm not sure if it matters. IF it is running fine, try pulling the battery neg. cable, and then putting it back on in 5 minutes or so.  This clears the codes that may ave registered while you were doing the repairs :thumbs:  then see what it flashes.  If it flashes once every few seconds, steadily, then that means all systems are normal