Author Topic: Tube Bending  (Read 15505 times)

Crawford_The_Newbie

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -8
  • Member since Mar '06
    • View Profile
Tube Bending
« on: Apr 12, 2006, 04:39:17 PM »
Has anyone had any experience with the tube benders available from Harbor Freight?  I have a lot of fabrication experience in square tube and flat stuff but have not ever done any round tube stuff.  Will the Harbor Freight bender bend .120 tube?  Will it bend it without it looking like a muffler bender?  Do any of you have a better bender that you use that is a similar value?  Thanks in advance for all the info.

Crawford_the_Newbie :blah: :blah: :blah:

reklund5

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 286
  • Male Posts: 1,263
  • Member since Nov '03
  • I love my Marlin Crawler!
    • View Profile
Re: Tube Bending
« Reply #1 on: Apr 12, 2006, 05:06:50 PM »
The bender from harbor freight is NOT a tubing bender.  It's a pipe bender and/or a tubing KINKER.  It's not designed for tubing, but rather pipe.  Pipe is measured by its inside diameter and usually has a thicker wall than tubing.  Pipe size is referred to as it's "schedule".  You might have seen "schedule 40" pipe at Home Depot, used for sprinkler systems and plumbing. 

Tubing, on the other hand, is measured by its OUTSIDE diameter, and has a variable wall thickness.  That is, a 1.75" OD tube can have a wall thickness of .25", .090", or .120".

You can build parts from either material, but the general consensus is that tubing should be used for anything structural on a vehicle (roll cages, suspension parts, shock hoops, etc.).

To properly bend tubing, you'll need a good bender such as a Pro Tools 105 or a Mittler Bros. bender.  You have to buy the appropriate size die set for each size of tubing you intend to bend.  A manual bender with one set of dies runs around $600 most places, but it's the only way to fly.

Ryan