Author Topic: A little reintroduction plus a couple of questions  (Read 1907 times)

Richmondo

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -1
  • Member since Jun '08
    • View Profile
A little reintroduction plus a couple of questions
« on: Aug 21, 2011, 11:15:18 PM »
Been a long time since I've posted up around her so I thought I'd kind of reintroduce myself (Mods feel free to move this thread if you need to). The names Jake. I'm a tech at Champion Toyota in Austin, TX. I just picked up a clean '80 long bed pickup from my team leader for $1500. Down side is it has a blown head gasket. No biggie though. Toyota has discontinued the head gasket for the 20R. I would obviously prefer an OEM gasket but my only other option is a full head kit which is more than I have to spend, even with my discount, and may be discontinued as well.

So I bit the bullet and bought a Rock head gasket kit. So here's my first question. I've read everybody's opinion on the Rock gaskets and they all seem to be good but I'd like to know if anyone has had a failure with their gaskets? I'm still apprehensive about after market gaskets from working shitty part store jobs for too long.

Now on to question two. I've checking out some of the custom dash bezels here and on pirate and was wondering if any body has used ABS plastic? If so what thickness did you use? I was thinking a combo of 1/8" and 1/4" ABS but don't know if it would be rigid enough to hold a DIN stereo, CB, climate control and possibly some gauges.

Thanks in advanced guys  :beer:
It was just crazy to see this deer leap all suicidal style off this embankment right in front of us.

1980yota

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -2
  • Member since Jan '11
    • View Profile
I cant tell you much about the gaskets bc I have never personally used them. I have Fel-Pro gaskets on all my yota stuff and have never had a problem out of them.