Author Topic: Home made hand tool advise  (Read 1575 times)

skin6061

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Member since Jun '09
    • View Profile
Home made hand tool advise
« on: Jul 14, 2011, 02:19:16 PM »
Has anyone ever made a home made hand tool from scratch.  I assemble bikes for a living and I made a pedal wrench and everyone that has seen it likes it.  Right now its very crude and I just modified tools to make one.  Now i'm thinking of making a production version of the tool.  the problem i'm running into is choosing the metal.  For one it needs to be thin.  1/8 or 3/16 thick easy to cut on a water table or plasma table.  But my main problem is tool steel needs to be heat treated, is this something i need to do or is there another steel out there that i doesnt need to be heat treated?

kneedownnate

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1128
  • Male Posts: 9,757
  • Member since Oct '04
    • View Profile
Re: Home made hand tool advise
« Reply #1 on: Jul 14, 2011, 11:42:18 PM »
Not sure on that one.  I made a few specialty tools when I used to wrench on boats, the only one worth keeping was a tool I made from a stainless shift rod to remove a lower unit from the powerhead.  Used it for years and beat on it pretty good, never had issues with it bending  :dunno:
RIP KYOTA

You can go through life being scared of the possible, or you can have a little fun and tease the inevitable.

Give a man venison, he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to hunt Blacktail, he'll be frustrated for life!

Dr Phat

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 305
  • Member since Oct '09
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jul 15, 2011, 08:27:05 AM »
You could technically heat treat it yourself. Get the tool (steel) heat cherry hot, then quench it in some used motor oil (HAVE FIRE EXTINGUISHER NEAR BY!) The metal will absorb the carbon in the oil and make it stronger. The metal will become alot strong but will be much more brittle, experiment and see what you get!