Author Topic: 84 build on the cheap side  (Read 5025 times)

valon5150

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 500
  • Male Posts: 55
  • Member since Jan '13
    • View Profile
    • Buy me a beer
84 build on the cheap side
« on: Feb 01, 2013, 07:36:45 PM »
well I had an 01 tacoma that had long term plans of being SAS'd...but due to my stupidity I wrecked it over the summer. So I got an 84 standard cab 22R 5spd from a buddies dad with plans of making it a decent wheeler but still a reasonable DD till I can afford something else to DD. the build has been entirely funded by parting out my wrecked tacoma.

I am new to the old solid axle toyotas so any advice from you guys or input on what I am doing would be really appreciated

So far I have gotten some 35 KM2's, bobbed the bed 15", made a rear bumper, shortened the sliders off my tacoma to fit, and done 63" chevys. partially done with a front bumper. also made a little bed rack to hold spare tire and hilift. my chevys lifted the truck  1 3/4" with a 6" shackle.

Got the 35's first

Made detachable mud flaps

Right now I am getting everything together and fabbed up to do RUF. So far I have Highsteer (picked up brand new trail gear kit for $280) got IFS box along with pump and reservoir and extra pully from a truck getting parted out locally, along with used F150 shock towers, brake lines, picked up a flat pitman arm too. Just finished making the front hanger today it is about a 1" drop hanger aiming to move the springs forward about 1.5". gonna do re enforcement plates for the IFS box this weekend. Planning on using the stock shackles right off the bat and then make my own if need be. I'm waiting on some shocks to arrive next week and then I will probably begin the swap.