Author Topic: A preventable injury at work today  (Read 2576 times)

kneedownnate

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1128
  • Male Posts: 9,757
  • Member since Oct '04
    • View Profile
A preventable injury at work today
« on: May 25, 2008, 08:46:55 PM »
Not me thankfully.  Some of you may know I'm a boat mechanic at a resort/marina.  This is our busiest weekend and all 92 houseboats were rented, all but a couple to the college kids.  This causes all kinds of chase calls, most being operator error or fault, as was this one.

Too many people on the back of the boat and the outboard motors go under water.  They don't run with water in them!  He went out to de-swamp their motors, pretty easy and routine job really.  All you usually have to do is remove the spark plugs, jump the solenoid and pump out all the water. 

There's very little room to stand on the back of the boats and you have to choose your footing wisely.  I've grown quite accustomed to straddling the motors so I'm fairly confident being back there working on them.  Not sure if he was having issues with his footing or it was just a brainfart, but he somehow got his fingers stuck between the flywheel and starter and mangled 2 pretty bad.  My boss checked toward the end of our shift and he was going into surgery to have some or most of the two fingers removed.

After they hauled him in and he was carted off in the ambulance, I got the call to go finish the job.  I hate chase calls, hate dealing with the people in general, but this is my least favorite group to deal with by far, but I had to go.