Author Topic: What do you think?  (Read 2162 times)

topar

• Offline The 1.5K Club
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 1,909
  • Member since Aug '06
  • One Toyota + One Mopar = Topar
    • View Profile
What do you think?
« on: Oct 17, 2007, 01:33:24 AM »
Okay so as some of you know I am in Law enforcement I know bo hiss and all that.  Currently I am a police officer at a small college.  I have worked for municipalities in the past and enjoyed it.  I came to work for the college for the benefits.  I have been here for 8 1/2 years now.  I make pretty good money and have great benefits.  I live 1.3 miles from work.  Get three weeks of Vacation a year and after 10 years get 4 weeks a year.  I also get 11 holidays a year, More sick time than you could believe currently could take 6 months off sick and still get paid no problem.  My retirement is unheard of.  I have to put 5% of my check into it.  The college matches that and then adds another 4 1/2% I put an extra $100 a month into it on top of that.  I get free college education for me my wife and our children (currently my son is 17 months old though)  we have 300 schools in the nation to choose from.  Problem is I don't particularly like my job or my most of my fellow officers.  Used to be all of us were prior Police now we have some guys that have never been in a PD They still have to go through the police academy but they have no prior experience.  We cant seem to get any training, equipment or more officers.  Student body is 2000 uniformed officers is 7.  Most of the time we work we are by ourselves.  I have some friends that work for a local Sherriffs Dept.  and they have an opening I also know the Sheriff.  I have been offered a job.  Here is the problem:  I would take about a $10000 a year pay cut, the benefits are no where near as good, no long term disability, No education benefits and its about 20 miles from my house ( I would get a take home car though).  I am good friends with several of the deputies an