Author Topic: Tall, narrow tires  (Read 15099 times)

zombie_stomp

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Jan '15
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Tall, narrow tires
« on: Jan 25, 2015, 08:51:17 PM »
I am looking for my ultimate set of tires. I don't wheel really, I am new to the idea. I am new to owning a 4x4 truck. I basically wanted to be able to get around and have the Toyota truck that could do everything and never get stuck. I guess what really set it off was getting stuck in a ditch with my 2wd 'yota.

So now I'm rolling on a set of BFG A/T tires, which are pretty near the end of their life cycle.

I'm looking for something NARROW, TALL, and about 50/50 on/off road. I may get further along in catching the offroad bug, but I want to be 50/50 versatile for now. I'm taking a cross-country highway route and moving to the west coast very soon, so I want to dial in MPG without having street-only tires.

I really like the tallest and narrowest tires in the 50/50 range that exist. If anyone can point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated. Then I can look around for the specific tire I want, even if a tire shop has to order them for me!

emsvitil

• Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 7571
  • Male Posts: 3,561
  • Member since May '07
    • View Profile
    • emsvitil's album
    • Buy me a soda
Re: Tall, narrow tires
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2015, 09:13:21 PM »
What's your current size tire and wheel (+ width) ?

BFG has 33 x 9.50s and 33 x 10.50s which will fit on a 15x7 rim.
Ed
SoCal
86 SR5 XtraCab
22RE  W56B
31x10.50R15

Snowtoy

• Offline The 2.5K Group
  • Turtle Points: 1403
  • Male Posts: 2,583
  • Member since Sep '03
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jan 25, 2015, 09:43:11 PM »