Author Topic: Clutch Question  (Read 1025 times)

85Toyotar

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 112
  • Member since Sep '19
    • View Profile
Clutch Question
« on: Apr 21, 2020, 08:08:01 AM »
So what exactly is the advantage of having a higher rated clutch as in foot pounds. For example the kits marlin offers for the 81-88 4 cylinder are 1200 foot pounds and 1600 foot pounds. I own a 85 with 31 inch tires and I would like to know the difference in how it feels when driving on road since for the most part I daily drive it and want to turn it into a better weekend offroader. I am a noob when it comes to how parts work. Will the clutch engage at a different time? Will the pedal be super tough to push down? Will I need to upgrade parts? Or does it just come down to what size tires you run?
Blue 85' Toyota Pickup 22r

Cheesemaker

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1363
  • Male Posts: 4,525
  • Member since Sep '04
  • Dean Tyler, you were an inspiration to all!!
    • View Profile
Re: Clutch Question
« Reply #1 on: Apr 21, 2020, 07:42:04 PM »
Its the clamping force that your reading.  I got the 1200#, thinking the 1600 would be too stiff on the pedal.  But my 1200# feels smoother than the OEM clutch.  I wouldn't to hesitate in getting the 1600#.  But either one is killer.  I run a 22RE, R151F trans, 23 spline tcase, 4.10 gears and 31's OG BFG mud terrains.  My clutch hooks up hard and easy.  I can hold the truck on a hill just feathering the clutch and not using the brakes.  I have been in places where I was hammering on the clutch, and I can easily say, the motor was gonna stall out before the clutch let go.
Miss ya Dean (4THEWKN) & Kyle (KYOTA)!!

4THEWKN~9/17/2006  If it wasn't for you, I'd be driving something other than a Toyota!

My build up ~ project Kilchis! http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=32961.0
Zak's truck build ~ http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=64319.0;topicseen

Gnarly4X

• Offline Gold Turtle Award