Author Topic: 1986 Toyota pickup not starting after new timing chain cover  (Read 2372 times)

lucasc

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 4
  • Member since Oct '14
  • Just rippin round with a dip in my lip
    • View Profile
 have a 86 Toyota pickup with a 22r out of an 83 just replaced the timing chain cover cause it had a crack. And now it will not start. It cranks and has good spark just won't start. It makes a almost backfire like noise out the exhaust when I'm trying to start it. Am starting to get real pissed with this thing. When I turn the key over it doesn't sound like the fuel pump is pressurizing. And I'm totally new to Toyota's so any help would be nice.

84Flatbed

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: -196
  • Member since Jun '13
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Did you remove and replace just the cover or did you remove the distributor for any reason?

junya92toy

• Offline The 1.5K Club
  • Turtle Points: -64
  • Male Posts: 1,500
  • Member since Nov '04
  • Drinking me beer
    • View Profile
Bypass the fuel
Dr.Maxwe001 – well i have a 15 gal compressor now and if I gett he 60  and then use the 15 as a reserve that wil give me 75 gal  thats close to 80 isnt it ?

Prismo

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 8452
  • Member since Oct '03
  • Living in the green house
    • View Profile
Distributor wasn't put back in right would be my guess. :dunno:
Retired Great White Turtle Hunter
Originally posted by fortysixandtwo – sheesh, you should see the transvestites i sell ammo to sometimes

jimbo74

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 2872
  • Male Posts: 8,707
  • Member since Sep '05
    • View Profile
Distributor wasn't put back in right would be my guess. :dunno:

This would be my guess also. In all the time I had a 22R, I put the distributor in 180* off quite a bit, I knew exactly what it was when it wouldn't start though
:usa: