Author Topic: IFS Front Axle - How Stout?  (Read 4436 times)

vtblazer

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Aug '12
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
IFS Front Axle - How Stout?
« on: Aug 06, 2012, 04:15:21 AM »
Hey guys, I'm new to the toy world so yeah...newb questions to follow no doubt.

I used to run old chevy iron on tons, so I have no clue the capabilities of the front axle in the '94 4runner I recently picked up.

Took the old K5 too far and ended up with a truck I couldn't drive on the road (twin cases on 42's...blah/blah) and I don't want the same for this one.
I want a decent driver that I can play with and/or wheel some if the opportunity comes up.

I'm thinking a max of 35's, so my question is can I get away with beefing up the stock axles with all the upgrades or do I go SAS right from the start??

Cool site, thx   :beerchug:

Cheesemaker

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1363
  • Male Posts: 4,525
  • Member since Sep '04
  • Dean Tyler, you were an inspiration to all!!
    • View Profile
Re: IFS Front Axle - How Stout?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 06, 2012, 07:39:29 AM »
There are alot of members that rockcrawl with IFS.  It reacts differently than a straight axle, and they find it more challenging.  But they do have their weakness.  The half shafts tend to be the weak link for the front, but do fairly well surprisingly enough. 
Miss ya Dean (4THEWKN) & Kyle (KYOTA)!!

4THEWKN~9/17/2006  If it wasn't for you, I'd be driving something other than a Toyota!

My build up ~ project Kilchis! http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=32961.0
Zak's truck build ~ http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=64319.0;topicseen

Nimyad

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: -1
  • Male Posts: 1,138
  • Member since Sep '10
    • View Profile
    • Buy me a cigar
« Reply #2 on: Aug 06, 2012, 10:12:43 AM »