Author Topic: Charge Problem  (Read 3116 times)

Toddstoys

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -3
  • Male Posts: 21
  • Member since Aug '11
    • View Profile
Charge Problem
« on: Aug 27, 2011, 10:34:46 AM »
I'm having a problem charging battery. I searched on the site and have seen similar problems but none like I'm having. I have a 82 toy 22r. when I start my truck I have to rev my engine to get it to start charging. I have replaced the alternator and regulator still I have the same problem. any suggestions will be appreciated. keep in mind with your replies I am a shade tree mechanic and old.  ::)
I'm no mechanic please have pity.
When life gives you lemons squirt them in life's eye's and kick it's butt while it can't see....

Tofudude

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: -31
  • Member since Jun '10
    • View Profile
Re: Charge Problem
« Reply #1 on: Aug 27, 2011, 10:37:16 AM »
charge relay?

Toddstoys [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Aug '11
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Aug 27, 2011, 11:06:56 AM »
charge relay?
I'm looking. under the dash driver side suppose to be. right? cause I cant seem to find it. I may have to take the dash back out. :(
When life gives you lemons squirt them in life's eye's and kick it's butt while it can't see....

Toddstoys [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Aug '11
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Aug 27, 2011, 12:19:50 PM »
ok I looked in my 81 and found my relay on the driver side but on my 82 I found the plug for the relay on the passenger side but no relay. can that be why I have to rev up my truck to get a charge and also I have another relay for my 81 will it work for my 82?
the truck should not charge at all without the relay right?
My 81 relay hooked up right but I have the same problem. :(
« Last Edit: Aug 27, 2011, 01:39:25 PM by Toddstoys »

79coyotefrg

• Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1452
  • Male Posts: 22,633
  • Member since May '02