Author Topic: Quick battery cable question  (Read 2421 times)

Larryb

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 3
  • Male Posts: 206
  • Member since Mar '09
    • View Profile
Quick battery cable question
« on: Jan 22, 2010, 04:11:05 PM »
I am still fairly new to the whole toyota(former jeep guy) scene and wanted be sure my negative battery cable is routed properly. The cable goes from the negative side of the battery and bolts directly to the body a few inches away, is this correct?? I dont think i have ever seen a negative battery cable attached to the body directly from the battery, usually to the engine or frame. Forgot to mention it is a 85 fuel injected 4runner.

2manytoys

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: 490
  • Male Posts: 583
  • Member since Nov '09
    • View Profile
Re: Quick battery cable question
« Reply #1 on: Jan 22, 2010, 04:22:00 PM »
The negative cable is usually a fat heavy gauge wire to the side of the block.

Some of the stock cables also had a small gauge wire off the battery terminal that connected to the body sheet metal right next to the battery.

There should also be a ground wire from the back of the head to the body. The alternator also has a ground to the block.

88 Pickup SAS'd, 3.4 V6, R151F Hybrid, Dual Ultimate, Triple sticks, 35's, 5.29's, HP front, V6 rear, Aussies, 63" Chevs, Anti Wrap Bar, Warn 8274 on Home Built Bumper

4WU linked 86 Xtra Cab build in progress

jimbo74

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 2872
  • Male Posts: 8,707
  • Member since Sep '05
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jan 22, 2010, 04:22:27 PM »
yup that is the correct oem location
:usa:

The cost of freedom is always high, but Americans have always paid it. And one path we shall never choose, and that is the path of surrender, or submission.

~ John F. Kennedy ~

myyota

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -1
  • Male Posts: 120
  • Member since Nov '06
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Jan 22, 2010, 09:34:00 PM »