Author Topic: 22RE Engine Troubleshooting Help  (Read 8422 times)

JD

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -1
  • Member since Sep '07
    • View Profile
22RE Engine Troubleshooting Help
« on: Aug 07, 2009, 07:37:34 AM »
Total noob here, so please be advised.

I have been noticing an engine clicking sound lately when I first start up. Very rapid, it almost sounds too rapid to be a single valve, since the clicks seem to occur every time the engine fires. The noise usually goes away after the engine warms up. I was hoping it was either the water pump or alternator, so I disconnected the fan belt, but I still get the sound. So I assume it's engine-related, possibly the valves need adjusting? Does this sound reasonable or are there other possibilities?

Also, I have been noticing an engine rumble lately as well, which I'm not sure is related. Whenever I let off the gas, regardless of what gear I'm in, when the engine begins to slow down I get sort of a "rumble" similar to when a big rig uses it's engine to slow down (not as loud of course). Could this be related? Both things appeared roughly about the same time, though the rumble seemed to appear right after I broke a fan belt and overheated on a very hot day.

Assuming I need to adjust my valves, is there a good guide somewhere? And do I need a special wrench to turn the engine while doing this? Thanks in advance and pardon my inexperience. The truck has run so well for me so far that I haven't had to do much work on it.

*ROKTOY*

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 1,066
  • Member since Nov '06
    • View Profile
Re: 22RE Engine Troubleshooting Help
« Reply #1 on: Aug 07, 2009, 07:44:07 AM »
Try adjusting the valves, not special wrench is needed, get a service manual.

MiniSimp

• Outdoor Enthusiast
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Male Posts: 5,120
  • Member since Jan '05
  • SimpsonBrothers.net
    • View Profile
    • Simpson Brothers Photography