Author Topic: How did you choose the name for your kids?  (Read 2644 times)

blackdiamond

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1174
  • Male Posts: 5,057
  • Member since Dec '03
  • Crawlin with Marlin
    • View Profile
How did you choose the name for your kids?
« on: Feb 18, 2011, 06:53:23 PM »
Let's hear your experiences and advice relating to naming children.

The only specific advice that I got was to keep the potential names a secret since people will feel free to voice negative opinions before the name is given, but generally will keep their mouths shut afterwords.

Being an engineer I had to come up with a nerdy way to go about this process.  So, Step 1 was for my wife and I to make a list of potential names.  Step 2 was to compare the lists and combine them into a single list adding or eliminating names that we had that were different.  Step 3 was to put together a spreadsheet that contained every possible combination of those names using them as both first and middle names.  Step 4 was to go through the names in fours and eliminate two or more of them.  We had over 1,000 names to review and are now down to about 120.  Step 5 was to make the short list of the remaining names and list them by first name to compare the middle names.  For Step 6 we're planning to compare in three's and eliminate one.  At some point we'll look up the meaning of the remaining names, but I don't know exactly how the process will go from here.

It's a big decision.  :dunno:
1989 4Runner: Dual Ultimate (Inchworm front & Marlin 4.70 rear), Marlin Twin Stick, 1200-lb clutch, 4.88 R&P, Aussie Front, Detroit rear, 30-spline Longs, Long hub gears, ARP hub and knuckle studs & 35x12.50 Cooper STT PRO tires.  Marlin rear bumper & sliders.  FROR front bumper.  SAS with Alcan springs & Rancho 9000XL shocks.  Budbuilt Bolt-on traction bar.  Custom Interior Cage by Those Guys Rod and Customs.

Moab Tested & Rubicon Approved

4RunnerChevy

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 5