Author Topic: FIRST SWAP 20R to 22RE  (Read 1230 times)

accountant_mechanic_

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 40
  • Male Posts: 43
  • Member since Feb '21
  • Self Taught
    • View Profile
FIRST SWAP 20R to 22RE
« on: Feb 15, 2021, 07:10:28 PM »
Hi everyone,

Long time lurker, finally getting around to working on my own swap. I have a 79 Hilux Long Bed that I am currently doing a swap/build on.

I have completely stripped the interior, pulled out the 20R and sold it along with the L43 4-speed. I have since replaced it with a 94 (2-square plug ECU) 22R-E and a G52 5-speed with dual cases with the adapter from Advance Adapters. Currently the 22R-E is sitting in the engine bay and the transmission is mounted using the Front Range Off-Road crossmember and skid. It has been waiting for me to finish the wiring. I have a complete harness (engine and body) to go into the truck. I am just not sure about the wiring for the gauge cluster and the ignition. I don't need the check engine light to work- I have plenty of gauges to know when something goes wrong and I have already blocked off the EGR/O2 sensors, so the only thing it would be used for really is rod knock.. and I'm pretty sure I'd know if I had a rod knock.

I am also unsure about the gas tank situation. I have been told that since I am going from carburetor to EFI that I will need to get a new tank with a new fuel pump and run another gas line... but run the line to where? And from where?

I know that this was kind of a long post. sorry about that. TLDR:
-Need to know how to wire up 79 gauges with 94 wires
-Need to know how to wire up 79 ignition with 94 wires
-need to know about carb to EFI gas tank stuff

Thank you in advance.  :usa:
Instagram @accountant_mechanic_

toyodaaddict

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 399
  • Male Posts: 1,145
  • Member since Sep '08
    • View Profile
Re: FIRST SWAP 20R to 22RE
« Reply #1 on: Feb 15, 2021, 08:11:30 PM »