We currently are not offering Customer Support on our Forum.
Please use our Store website for: Customer Contact.

Author Topic: We test Marlin Crawler's HREW vs. Competitor's DOM Bumper Steel  (Read 138445 times)

BigMike

• Administrator
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 2159
  • Male Posts: 18,292
  • Member since Apr '02
  • 511:1 Club
    • View Profile
    • Bone-Stock Plane-Jane 1981 Shortbed Pickup
I'm not sure that I think there's a direct comparison to hardness and dent resistance, but the crush test is spot on.  I'll admit that my material knowledge isn't significant, even though I hold an engineering degree, but I think that there are far more significant factors.

I'd like to see the crush test examined to include a long section of tube.  If you used a piece long enough to eliminate any end constraints and loaded it at the center it would be the closest approximation of a dent.

Also, some impact testing vs. controlled applied loads might be in order.  I realize that it's difficult to calibrate a hammer, but you could simply drop a specified weight from a specified distance.

Also, does bending have any effect on the dent resistance.  How about the same tests on a bend?

I think your on the right track and am only offering a few other ways to get additional results.

blackdiamond-

These are excellent test ideas! It has been requested to run the crush test using longer samples and I plan on doing this soon.

Your testing of bends idea is excellent but I must come up with a way to cradle the samples without allowing any movement at the support to get consistent results. I probably don't have matching bend angles to play with (remember we currently have a limited amount of competitor's material to play with) but we could match bends for this.