Author Topic: Any Musicians  (Read 5537 times)

weirdtimes_7

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 1,032
  • Member since Nov '06
    • View Profile
Re: Any Musicians
« Reply #30 on: Dec 03, 2006, 05:59:08 AM »
HAHA, it's all good.. i didn't think you were venting to me, lol. Trust me, i know what your talking about. I tell you what, when i started playing in the 6th grade, i knew i had a natural ability to play (not trying to sound to cocky), and so did my teachers..... and i emphasise the "s" in teachers. My biggest downfall during my years of playing was simply my teachers. I didn't get the simple push to make me better.... now yes, i know i could have driven myself to better and higher heights, but i was to involved in football and wrestling to actually worry about music.

The only years that i had a good... no, great teacher, was my sophomore - senior year. His name is Mr. Shuling. I loved this dude. I had never had anyone push me so hard to be so good. Now seeing as i didn't have a teacher who wanted to push me to be better, i litterally didn't know the notes in front of me.  Sure i could play the little black things on the line, but i couldn't tell you what the lines where, what the letters for the notes where, i couldn't even tell you how to sing the cord in front of me... but yes, i could play damn well. Mr Shuling pushed me from the moment he came into my high school, and this was the greatest thing that could have happened to me... it pushed me to be the person i am today...(HA, which i love so much, lol).... All in all, he is one of my biggest hero's in life... truly... i love music....