Author Topic: auto to standard tranny swap?  (Read 4946 times)

Volcom

• Offline The 2K Group
  • Turtle Points: 269
  • Male Posts: 2,418
  • Member since Sep '04
  • Colorado Rocks!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.rockfrogs.org
auto to standard tranny swap?
« on: Aug 27, 2005, 04:07:22 PM »
Anybody ever done one?  Here's my problem.  I've got an 84 4Runner with a bad 22R (see thread http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=14334.0)  Anyways, I found an 85 22RE good shape, but one thing, it's an auto  :smack:   How tough would it be to swap the stuff from the 84 to the 85 like tranny, t-case, hydro lines for clutch, pedal assembly.  What else am I missing? 

Here's the other problem.  Could I take the automatic stuff and swap it to the 84?  Are the wiring harnesses the same?  I'm a big newb when it comes to swaping auto to 5 speed and all that stuff.

Any help would be great as this 4Runner is at a great price and I don't want to miss it
84 4Runner
Swapped EFI and a rebuilt 22RE
Marlin Dual Ultimate crawler
Marlin high steer
TG springs
5.29's, Aussie locked front and rear
39.5" Iroks on 15x10 2.5" backspaced wheels
109" wheelbase
Addicted Off Road 8 point cage
Addicted Off Road front bumper

Addicted Off Road

Colorado Marlin members, check out the Colorado section!!!

Duffil

• *lurker*
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 138
  • Male Posts: 4,844
  • Member since Nov '04
    • View Profile
    • PhotoBucket
    • Buy me a beer
Re: auto to standard tranny swap?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 27, 2005, 06:43:44 PM »
the engine is the same, except for the EFI.  Why would you want to replace a stick with an auto?  Or did I misunderstand the question?

gturismo

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: -20
  • Male Posts: 327
  • Member since Oct '04
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Aug 27, 2005, 08:18:02 PM »
I'm working on the auto to manual swap right now.  Since you have the 84 with all the manual parts, it will be a piece of cake.