Author Topic: is the LINCOLN 180 HD Mig Welder a good welder?  (Read 12759 times)

86turboyota

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 1,079
  • Member since Jul '05
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
is the LINCOLN 180 HD Mig Welder a good welder?
« on: Feb 24, 2009, 01:47:08 PM »
Found a good deal on a LINCOLN 180 HD Mig Welder and im wondering if that would be a good welder for building bumpers, cages and general fab.  Im still a beginning welder but all ive heard is that mig is far easier than arc to use, and arc is what ive learned on.
My Build 1986 4runner SAS 36s etc
http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=22625.0

"Later, I learned that even though I engage 4WD my hubs are not automatically locking? Something about manual locking hubs I think. What's manual mean? I need to read a manual to lock them? lol  So I found these neat autolocking hubs and installed them. Sometimes they dont stay locked while I am backing up, but that's fine because I dont have a backup camera to see where Im going (like our RV) so I just simply dont ever back up"- BigMike

4RunnerChevy

• Offline The 1K Club
  • Turtle Points: 5
  • Male Posts: 1,426
  • Member since Sep '08
  • Santa Cruz Mountains
    • View Profile
    • Santa Cruz Wheelers
I think it would be somewhat ideal for your app  :thumbs:

crawlerdan

• Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 1319
  • Male Posts: 4,770
  • Member since Feb '05
    • View Profile
Found a good deal on a LINCOLN 180 HD Mig Welder and im wondering if that would be a good welder for building bumpers, cages and general fab.  Im still a beginning welder but all ive heard is that mig is far easier than arc to use, and arc is what ive learned on.
i ed to own one, great welder, id like another :D

cederrowe

• Offline Rock Master
  • Member since Sep '08
    • View Profile
There a great welder and are more than you'll ever need fabbing a truck! The 220v makes the super efficient.

4LoRunner