Author Topic: Tire size! your opinion counts!  (Read 5730 times)

4rnrfool

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 27
  • Member since Dec '04
  • It'll never get done!
    • View Profile
Tire size! your opinion counts!
« on: Dec 08, 2004, 05:49:45 AM »
Yes I'm a newbie, :rivers:  but I gotta know, I've got a '85 front end W/the full longfield 30 spline kit, ARB, 5.29 gears and twin case (both stock) I drive moderate trails with a few rock ledges thrown in. What is the largest tire I can get away with without breaking something all the time? Like I said your opinion counts so lets here it! :grad:

billy hill

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: -102
  • Male Posts: 150
  • Member since Nov '04
    • View Profile
Re: Tire size! your opinion counts!
« Reply #1 on: Dec 08, 2004, 07:01:31 AM »
well with those 30 spliners you shouldn't have probs running 38's. Bobby Long's site tested those to be stronger that D60's so you should be able to run even larger than that. I just don't like HUGE tires.
official mall crawlin pavment pounder #1

4rnrfool [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Dec '04
  • It'll never get done!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Dec 08, 2004, 12:36:29 PM »
So, when are we talking ridiculous? Are 38's pushing it when in double low?

camo89

• Offline Rock Master
  • Male Posts: 308
  • Member since Apr '04
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Dec 08, 2004, 01:06:28 PM »
nope i like 38s 37s right around ther is a good size for a toy 37mts if ys never see mud 38" tsl sx if ya see mud and you should not ever half to worrie about breaking things with this combo
mopar parts

4rnrfool [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Dec '04
  • It'll never get done!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Dec 08, 2004, 02:01:11 PM »
well, now I'll give my wife nightmares with my dreams of 38" TSL/SX's (hope I can get em to fix on a FJ-40 also!)

4rnrfool [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Dec '04