Author Topic: how do you check to see if a housing is straight?  (Read 1686 times)

Tice

• Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 8
  • Male Posts: 881
  • Member since Feb '05
  • I named my son Wheeler!!!!
    • View Profile
how do you check to see if a housing is straight?
« on: Oct 11, 2005, 05:48:43 PM »
I broke another longfield in Las Cruces this past weekend. :mad:  It was on the same side as the other 3, so I'm thinking my housing may be bent. Plus even after replacing the inner seal it still leaks. Does anyone know how to check a housing to see if it's straight or not? Thanks :beerchug:
I don't need a winch, I wheel a TOYOTA!!!!!!!

www.wheelingarizona.com

musclesliver

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: -36
  • Male Posts: 81
  • Member since Aug '05
  • huh??? Where am I???
    • View Profile
level???

11 Bravo

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 140
  • Member since Aug '05
  • Chicks dig scars
    • View Profile
I am not an expert on stuff like this, but since you aren't getting much advise I will offer an idea.

Try putting the axle into the diff without an axle seal in the housing. See if the axle looks very centered in the seal bore. You can wiggle the axle around a little and get a feel for where it is centered in the side gear, more or less just taking the weight off the end of it. By the sounds of your problem, it should show if the axle is pretty far off center.
I'm not very smart, but I can lift heavy things.

Tice [OP]

• Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 8
  • Male Posts: 881
  • Member since Feb '05
  • I named my son Wheeler!!!!
    • View Profile
I was thinking of something like that. Just didn't know if there was an exact way to do it. I've got another housing that I willl probly swap in this weekend. I need to tare the one thats in there now apart anyways.
I don't need a winch, I wheel a TOYOTA!!!!!!!

www.wheelingarizona.com

79coyotefrg

• Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award