Author Topic: Needing some help with hydraulic assist  (Read 2452 times)

matholland

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Aug '13
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Needing some help with hydraulic assist
« on: Aug 16, 2013, 06:04:27 AM »
Hey guys.  I have what started off as an 81 toyota truck.  It has a 22RE swap out of a 94, and it has dana 60 one ton axles.  Right now it has no hydraulic assist OR hydraulic steering.  I am unsure as to which route that I need to go with.  I have spools front and rear, with lockouts for the front and 42" super swampers.  I believe I want to go with hydraulic assist, but I do know where an orbital valve is at for 150 that is new, so if I decided to go full hydraulic, that's a fair price on one.

I am new to all of this.  My drag link hits my track bar, and there is not much room in there with all 3 bars.  I am not sure how to set this up with that I have to work with.  Here are a few pics for reference...please ignore the fact its still primer underneath lol

I do have some questions.  Since I have 1 tons as opposed to toyota axles, I am unsure as to what size ram that I need to go with.  Also, is everyone using transmission coolers, or are they using the bigger resivore for power steering fluid?  Or in my case, do I need to go with both to get the extra volume?

I am trying to get all the parts that I need and order them.  I am just unsure as to what I need to be sure on things.  Hopefully someone can help a newbie out lol

pumkin toy

• Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: -4
  • Male Posts: 3,561
  • Member since Sep '05
  • Do You Know A Sweeney Bro?
    • View Profile
    • Buy me a beer
Re: Needing some help with hydraulic assist
« Reply #1 on: Aug 16, 2013, 07:32:34 AM »
I'm assuming your drag link is not supposed to be bent like that?  Its looks like if it wasn't bent, then it wouldn't hit the track bar.  Its hard to tell from the pics.