Author Topic: 1979 Long Bed 3.4 Swap/Build  (Read 2842 times)

accountant_mechanic_

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 40
  • Male Posts: 43
  • Member since Feb '21
  • Self Taught
    • View Profile
I have been doing a ton of research on all parts of this swap, basically it looks like there are several factors to consider, I'll try to list the main ones below

Mounting the engine:
I just got off the phone with the guys from Hired Gun Offroad to talk about their 3.4 swap mounts (which can be found here on their website https://www.hiredgunoffroad.com/product/34_swap_mounts). After talking with them it appears that I will have to use the 3.0 brackets that go from the motor to the motor mount as well as the 3.0 motor mounts. This is because these mounts are narrower than the 3.4 mounts and will need to be slimmer in order to fit into the '79 frame. It also looks like I'll have to cut out the old motor mounts and weld in these new ones- which are low enough that I should not need a body lift to fit the 5VZ under the hood. It should be noted that I will also have to get some kind of rear-sump oil pan kit so that my oil pan does not interfere with the hi-steer rods. Speaking of steering, I will have to be careful as to how I mount the steering box because clearance will be limited for the steering shaft to run down the side of the motor.

Exhaust: