Author Topic: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap  (Read 4228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

R.DesJardin

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« on: May 30, 2010, 02:36:49 PM »
OK, been searching around but have found no positive info that a 3rz will bolt up to a 22re bell housing?
I'm currently running a A340F behind my 22re, and I don't care about the trans computer I have a way around that, and I will get a 3RZ from a manual trans Tacoma for the swap when the time comes.
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

kneedownnate

  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 1032
  • Male Posts: 9,754
  • Member since Oct '04
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 02:41:23 PM »
I don't know, but have you researched which auto came behind the 3rz in different configurations, then looked to see that the spline count and shaft length are the same?
RIP KYOTA

You can go through life being scared of the possible, or you can have a little fun and tease the inevitable.

Give a man venison, he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to hunt Blacktail, he'll be frustrated for life!

crazykooter

  • Offline The 1K Club
  • *
  • Turtle Points: -370
  • Male Posts: 1,418
  • Member since Apr '09
  • Located in Byron, CA
    • View Profile

R.DesJardin [OP]

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2010, 07:05:07 PM »
http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=19275.0
Yes i've read thru that but where does it answer my question, "Can I bolt up a 3RZ to my 22re A340 bell housing?" I know I could get a bell housing from a 3RZ auto but why if mine will work?
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

dniel

  • Offline Rock Master
  • ***
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 194
  • Member since Feb '09
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2010, 07:46:13 PM »
Yes i've read thru that but where does it answer my question, "Can I bolt up a 3RZ to my 22re A340 bell housing?" I know I could get a bell housing from a 3RZ auto but why if mine will work?

I'm pretty sure the bolt pattern at the block is different. Marlin sells a special 3rz to R series bell housing. If the 3rz and 22r shared a common pattern people would just use a turbo bell housing and a "special" bell housing would not be needed. 
1uz-fe, 1 tons, 44" tsl

R.DesJardin [OP]

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2010, 07:52:46 PM »
Yeah I've seen the bell housing for the manual, I was thinking that was for a trans that wasn't offered behind a 22r?
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

crazykooter

  • Offline The 1K Club
  • *
  • Turtle Points: -370
  • Male Posts: 1,418
  • Member since Apr '09
  • Located in Byron, CA
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2010, 11:45:46 PM »
Im pretty sure your not gonna get a A340H or F trans to mount up to anything but a 3.0.  If you got an auto from a earlier 2nd gen 22re it might mount up but I HIGHLY doubt it.  Your best bet is to get a hold of an auto from 3rz taco.  The A340 trans arent that bad but they are designed for chain driven tcases plus the A340H has an integrated tcase which makes it even worse.

Capt. Crawler

  • Offline Rock Master
  • ***
  • Turtle Points: 221
  • Posts: 200
  • Member since Oct '06
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2010, 12:17:45 AM »
  I've got an " A340E" available out of a '98 4 Runner. :dunno:

      2 Wheel Drive!!!

dniel

  • Offline Rock Master
  • ***
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 194
  • Member since Feb '09
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2010, 12:38:09 AM »
Yeah I've seen the bell housing for the manual, I was thinking that was for a trans that wasn't offered behind a 22r?

The Marlin bell housing is to mount any r series manual to a 2rz/3rz. The turbo 22re (same block pattern as n/a 22re) came with an r series with a gear driven 23 spline t-case. All other r series were chain t-case. The turbo B H will bolt any r series to any 20r/22r engine. My point is if the 3rz and 22r had the same pattern Marlin wouldn't have made a custom bell housing since a factory option was available.

 Keep in mind if you use a 22re 340 and a bell housing from a taco you might need to use the torque converter and maybe the oil pump from the taco also. The 1uz uses a deeper converter and slightly longer oil pump than the earlier versions. I'm not sure if this applies to the 3rz or not.
1uz-fe, 1 tons, 44" tsl

R.DesJardin [OP]

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2010, 07:01:43 AM »
  I've got an " A340E" available out of a '98 4 Runner. :dunno:

      2 Wheel Drive!!!
Well I wouldn't mind having the bell housing and flex plate. :greengrin:

I don't have the "H" model, I have a very late model 22re "F" model that does not have the funky t-case with tubes and an extra oil pan. Not to many of these out there, some even say it doesn't exist. :headscratch:
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

crazykooter

  • Offline The 1K Club
  • *
  • Turtle Points: -370
  • Male Posts: 1,418
  • Member since Apr '09
  • Located in Byron, CA
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2010, 09:02:38 AM »
Even if you have an F your still gonna end up needing an adapter to mount a gear driven tcase if you plan to wheel the truck.  Autos make it kind of messy.

R.DesJardin [OP]

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2010, 09:14:06 AM »
Even if you have an F your still gonna end up needing an adapter to mount a gear driven tcase if you plan to wheel the truck.  Autos make it kind of messy.
Don't worry this is no DD, chrome and plastic mall crawlin' wannabe in the mtns truck.  I understand, but I love the auto so it's just another adapter. Must be why I have a full time job, gotta pay if you wanna play. I got one gear drive case and another is on the way in a trade with a local guy. Just need to rebuild them and then start buying adapters. :greengrin:
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

crazykooter

  • Offline The 1K Club
  • *
  • Turtle Points: -370
  • Male Posts: 1,418
  • Member since Apr '09
  • Located in Byron, CA
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2010, 09:18:37 AM »
I do know A guy local to me who has a Marlin adapter for A3** series trans to gear tcase.  Dont get me wrong I drive my rig daily and I would love to have an auto.  Not so sure I would want one on the trail since crawl ratios get rather screwy.  Since most have to lock down into 2nd it some what limits you.  Just food for thought.

R.DesJardin [OP]

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2010, 09:28:28 AM »
What do you mean lock down in second, are you refering to the transmission being ran by a computer? If so no worry I don't have a puter, ditched it to run full manual control.
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

crazykooter

  • Offline The 1K Club
  • *
  • Turtle Points: -370
  • Male Posts: 1,418
  • Member since Apr '09
  • Located in Byron, CA
    • View Profile
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2010, 09:33:34 AM »
I mean if you leave the auto in D position it will shift on you when u dont want it to.  So you move the shifter to 2 and it locks it in 2nd gear.  If your crawling you DONT want it to shift.  Let alone it will make it hard to gain traction but it also can do damage to the trans since it will be under a lot more load.

R.DesJardin [OP]

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 680
  • Male Posts: 489
  • Member since Mar '08
    • View Profile
    • RADesigns Products LLC
Re: 22re to 3rz w/auto swap
« Reply #15 on: Jun 01, 2010, 07:45:23 PM »
I mean if you leave the auto in D position it will shift on you when u dont want it to.  So you move the shifter to 2 and it locks it in 2nd gear.  If your crawling you DONT want it to shift.  Let alone it will make it hard to gain traction but it also can do damage to the trans since it will be under a lot more load.
Figured that's what you meant, I don't need to worry about any of that since I run mine manually without a TCM. I'll be keeping an eye out for a 3RZ locally for this swap. My biggest worry is the torque curve is so much different than the 22re, for snow wheelin that smooth low end works well, I just need a little more punch after I get moving.
R.DesJardin
"If I didn't live in the middle of nowhere!"


2RZ-A340F-Duals-locked FR/RR-IROK's

 
 
 
 
 

Related Topics

28 Replies
16132 Views
Last post Nov 04, 2004, 12:01:43 AM
by iNfErNaL
1 Replies
1478 Views
Last post Feb 01, 2005, 10:08:58 PM
by scheid6996
2 Replies
1326 Views
Last post Oct 08, 2006, 09:01:15 PM
by olemisstoy88
6 Replies
1734 Views
Last post Apr 16, 2020, 09:51:51 PM
by 87SR5
1 Replies
187 Views
Last post Sep 17, 2020, 12:53:33 PM
by 87SR5