Author Topic: SR5 Gauge Swap  (Read 1772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jrock

  • Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 77
  • Male Posts: 3,395
  • Member since Oct '06
  • Oodelally
    • View Profile
SR5 Gauge Swap
« on: Jul 07, 2008, 04:00:58 PM »
Yes, this is another SR5 swap and yes I looked for info.
My truck is an 85 22RE formerly an auto, now stick. I want to remove my cluster for an SR5's, also from an 85.

Question: I cannot seem to find what wire to cut or splice into for the tack. My FSM saids black, I have read green on the boards. There is a black wire on my igniter that goes to the negative on my coil. There is also a black and a black/red coming out of a plug that goes into the harness on the driver-side fender. The other side of the plug has a brown (goes to the positive on the coil) and a yellow (goes to the igniter).

Please help, pictures would be best. Thanks.
« Last Edit: Jul 07, 2008, 06:08:01 PM by jkief86 »

jrock [OP]

  • Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 77
  • Male Posts: 3,395
  • Member since Oct '06
  • Oodelally
    • View Profile
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #1 on: Jul 07, 2008, 06:13:17 PM »
I got the tack to work, I connected the negative on the coil to the P screw in the SR5 cluster.
New question: My speedo and tack work but nothing else.
Oil: off (no sending unit)
Temp: in the red, when at normal temp
Volt: very high (like 4/5 up), but ticks up and down when turn signals are on.
Gas: Pinned up, I have like 4 gallons of gas.

Help.

79coyotefrg

  • Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 1420
  • Male Posts: 22,622
  • Member since May '02
  • Solid axle Toys Rule ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • HotSprings Superlift ORV park
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #2 on: Jul 07, 2008, 07:02:28 PM »
thats what happenes  when you cut and splice

did you even try and plug it in and see if it worked at all
AR-TTORA founder 22R bored.060,LCE stage II race cam http://pure-gas.org/    32/36weber, :driving: Marlin 1200 NON ceramic clutch, L52SHD+dualcase #2919, cable-locker, Yukon 5.29 gears, 35's, Allpro ebrake, front springs, and high steer, F150rears    RIP Nitro 9-29-07 :(  I sure miss him :down: MarlinCrawlerInc IS NOT affiliated with TrailGear in any way

jrock [OP]

  • Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 77
  • Male Posts: 3,395
  • Member since Oct '06
  • Oodelally
    • View Profile
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #3 on: Jul 07, 2008, 07:05:42 PM »
thats what happenes  when you cut and splice

did you even try and plug it in and see if it worked at all
Yup, tried it a while back with the same result, no tach or others. I also have not cut anything yet. :thumbs:

79coyotefrg

  • Rock Ninja
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 1420
  • Male Posts: 22,622
  • Member since May '02
  • Solid axle Toys Rule ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • HotSprings Superlift ORV park
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #4 on: Jul 07, 2008, 07:29:17 PM »
Yup, tried it a while back with the same result, no tach or others. I also have not cut anything yet. :thumbs:
good  DONT

so how did you get the tach and speedo to work??

OK,  i think you have a bad ground
AR-TTORA founder 22R bored.060,LCE stage II race cam http://pure-gas.org/    32/36weber, :driving: Marlin 1200 NON ceramic clutch, L52SHD+dualcase #2919, cable-locker, Yukon 5.29 gears, 35's, Allpro ebrake, front springs, and high steer, F150rears    RIP Nitro 9-29-07 :(  I sure miss him :down: MarlinCrawlerInc IS NOT affiliated with TrailGear in any way

jrock [OP]

  • Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 77
  • Male Posts: 3,395
  • Member since Oct '06
  • Oodelally
    • View Profile
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #5 on: Jul 07, 2008, 07:53:08 PM »
I connected the negative on the coil to the P screw in the SR5 cluster with some 12ga.

Bad ground you say... I would not dout it. Where should I start looking?
PS- My original cluster worked fine.

Tallchevy

  • Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 235
  • Male Posts: 3,559
  • Member since Dec '06
  • Where were going we don't need roads!
    • View Profile
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #6 on: Jul 08, 2008, 09:55:24 AM »
Temp: in the red, when at normal temp
Volt: very high (like 4/5 up), but ticks up and down when turn signals are on.
Gas: Pinned up, I have like 4 gallons of gas.

Help.

Sounds like you have the sending unit wires grounded. (ie) When you check to see if the fuel gauge or temp gauge wiring is good, you ground the sending unit wire & the gauges should goto full or max tempurature. This check the gauge as well. Do you have an FSM?
:angry: My child is an honor student at Anton Levay's School of Satanic Arts :angry:

87 4Runner redo
http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=41959.0
87 Toyota 4Runner, SAS Rig Gallery
http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=29877.msg3

jrock [OP]

  • Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 77
  • Male Posts: 3,395
  • Member since Oct '06
  • Oodelally
    • View Profile
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #7 on: Jul 08, 2008, 01:29:12 PM »
Just the one I downloaded here and Chilton.

jimbo74

  • Online Gold Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 2074
  • Male Posts: 8,730
  • Member since Sep '05
    • View Profile
Re: SR5 Gauge Swap
« Reply #8 on: Jul 08, 2008, 01:31:10 PM »
if you downloaded the FSM, it will have pinnouts for eveything....
:usa:

The cost of freedom is always high, but Americans have always paid it. And one path we shall never choose, and that is the path of surrender, or submission.

~ John F. Kennedy ~

 
 
 
 
 

Related Topics

34 Replies
19563 Views
Last post Jun 17, 2011, 11:18:50 PM
by Fiercefirstgen559
8 Replies
2408 Views
Last post Apr 02, 2006, 07:23:24 PM
by 11 Bravo
8 Replies
1334 Views
Last post May 31, 2008, 09:39:08 PM
by T Pennington
12 Replies
2428 Views
Last post Jun 26, 2008, 01:38:25 AM
by Toymin8r
0 Replies
774 Views
Last post Sep 19, 2008, 08:42:11 AM
by 83MT