Author Topic: The Official 3RZ Knowledge and Database Thread  (Read 638982 times)

0 Members and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

s13koop

  • Offline Dusty Trails
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Member since Oct '17
  • Crawling with Marlin
I ordered some mounts today from toy only swaps and see they added a pan already set up for ifs trucks.  $375.  Seems reasonable.




Finally got back to finishing my swap.  Noticed Toyonlyswaps now offers an oil pan for IFS (as mentioned above), fits nicely.
Also using their motor mounts since the Chilkat ones didnt work out at all.

MikeBoyle

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 22
  • Member since Nov '08
    • Pics of my pile
Having an issue with my 2RZ swap. Everything is in, wired and working (haven't finished exhaust yet so no O2's). Problem I'm having is there is no communication with the OBD connector. I wired it using the info 4RnrRick provided on page 2. I've double checked the harness is pinned out correctly and that the two different scan tools work fine in another vehicle. Anyone have an idea what my issue might be?

gnob

  • Online Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 415
  • Posts: 710
  • Member since May '02
The obd pinouts vary by ecm.  Make sure yours jive.
hold this. . .

MikeBoyle

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 22
  • Member since Nov '08
    • Pics of my pile
Still having issues communicating with the ECU. I have tried multiple scan tools, triple checked every wire, confirmed all grounds are good, replaced the ECU and looked at wiring diagrams until I can see them in my sleep. I just can't figure it out.

The engine side of the harness is 100% original (other than extending the wires for the rear O2 sensor). Engine is a dual coil from a 98. The only connectors I modified are as follows:

1K2 #6 Ground to #5 pin on D7 (data link)
#8 12v ignition
#16 12v ignition

E5 #2 12v Battery
#4 Check engine light
#8 Speed sensor
#12 12v ignition
#19 SIL to #7 pin on D7
#22 12v ignition

D7 #4 Ground
#5 Ground pin #6 1K2
#7 SIL from #19 on E5
#16 12v Battery

I am not running any "factory" gauges and have the fuel pump controlled on its own circuit outside of the ECU. I want to run an ELM327 to a cheap Android phone to monitor the coolant temp, voltage and tach, therefore I really want to figure out why I have no communication with the ECU. I have pretty much eliminated everything I can think of with no success. The truck will start and run fine. It does have a slight stumble off idle but I think it has more to do with the lack of any stored data in the ECU than anything else. I'd know more if I could monitor the data. Does anyone have any idea what I am overlooking?

liveoak

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 96
  • Female Posts: 699
  • Member since Mar '08
Does anyone have any idea what I am overlooking?

what is your pinout for the obd plug itself?

if you were using my diagram for the obd ll plug, I had made a mistake and wrote pin 6 for 12v instead of pin 16.
« Last Edit: Sep 02, 2019, 02:03:18 PM by liveoak »

MikeBoyle

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 22
  • Member since Nov '08
    • Pics of my pile
what is your pinout for the obd plug itself?

if you were using my diagram for the obd ll plug, I had made a mistake and wrote pin 6 for 12v instead of pin 16.

D7 #4 Ground
#5 Ground pin #6 1K2
#7 SIL from #19 on E5
#16 12v Battery

liveoak

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 96
  • Female Posts: 699
  • Member since Mar '08
D7 #4 Ground
#5 Ground pin #6 1K2
#7 SIL from #19 on E5
#16 12v Battery


That sounds right(98 tacoma E5 pin 19 white wire to pin 7 of obd), you could try chassis grounding  4 and 5 on the obd (that's what I did). that's all I can think of
« Last Edit: Sep 02, 2019, 04:28:03 PM by liveoak »

MikeBoyle

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 22
  • Member since Nov '08
    • Pics of my pile
4 is grounded to the chassis. I have checked it as well as used a jumper on it (jumper directly to battery ground) and had no change. I have also tried adding a jumper from the ground point for 5 (front of intake) directly to the battery ground with no luck. I know it has to be something simple that I am either overlooking or is missing, I just can't figure it out.

liveoak

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: 96
  • Female Posts: 699
  • Member since Mar '08
Try connecting SIL wire to pin #2 instead of #7 on the OBD to see if that changes anything

MikeBoyle

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 22
  • Member since Nov '08
    • Pics of my pile
Try connecting SIL wire to pin #2 instead of #7 on the OBD to see if that changes anything

I will try that.

One other thing I was thinking of trying (after researching all afternoon) but ran out of time (I'm at work now) was switching the SIL wire to #15. From what I found the 98 uses ISO9141-2 protocol for data communication. According to the info I've found, the OBD port has two ports that were dedicated for that protocol. Pin #7 and pin #15. I'll try #2 and #15 tomorrow and see if either make any difference.

swilson

  • Offline Rock Master
  • ***
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 220
  • Member since Aug '11
    • My 1966 FJ40 Build Up


Still having issues communicating with the ECU.

. Does anyone have any idea what I am overlooking?

I had a similar issue.  IIRC mine turned out to be an mis-pinned ground or +12V at my OBDII connector.  Good luck
Scott Wilson - TLCA #5261
1966 FJ40 [sold] - Click for Build thread
1988 3RZ 4Runner - Click for Build thread
1964 FJ40 TBD

MikeBoyle

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 22
  • Member since Nov '08
    • Pics of my pile
Tried moving the data line to pin #2 (and every other open pin in the plug) with no change. Repined grounds and ran them directly to chassis ground. No help. With the grounds unhooked, the scan tool will not turn on, so I know the ground is good once connected. This leaves the data line as the only thing I can suspect. When I back probe the line with a Power Probe (KOEO) I do get a varying voltage signal which tells me there should be data on the line. The only thing I am unsure of at this point is the fact that the data line is not shielded. I talked with a couple engine tuners before I built the harness and they said that it shouldn't be necessary to run a shielded line providing I'm not running stereo or high amp wiring near the data line. I have no stereo and there is nothing near the harness that should be interfering with the data. I guess my next move will be to figure out where to find 3-4 ft. of single line shielded cable.

87SR5

  • Offline Dusty Trails
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 197
  • Male Posts: 11
  • Member since Jan '07



Finally got back to finishing my swap.  Noticed Toyonlyswaps now offers an oil pan for IFS (as mentioned above), fits nicely.
Also using their motor mounts since the Chilkat ones didnt work out at all.


Wow. 👍 for 3rz swap in ifs set up. I'm also doing 3rz swap for my 87 ifs. Is there more pic's on your swap? How did you route your exhaust? It seems almost impossible to clear the torsion bar.

lc_nut

  • Offline Dusty Trails
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Member since Sep '19
  • Crawling with Marlin
i'm a new member here, but I've been on mud for awhile....

I'm putting a 3rz in an 87 4runner (with an fj80 drive train swap).
I had a question about oil pans.

I'm using a 2tr pan. I just wondered if anyone else has, and if they had issues in the truck.
thanks-

 
 
 
 
 

Related Topics

962 Replies
241267 Views
Last post Feb 05, 2017, 10:33:53 AM
by joeyf
977 Replies
135617 Views
Last post Mar 19, 2010, 02:32:29 AM
by Rocksurfer
125 Replies
30531 Views
Last post Jul 31, 2009, 06:34:52 PM
by unclejpl4x4
17 Replies
5100 Views
Last post Mar 29, 2009, 08:34:41 AM
by Rocksurfer
85 Replies
23047 Views
Last post May 31, 2011, 12:46:49 AM
by yoshaleng