Author Topic: tryin to fix stiff pro comp suspension...  (Read 345 times)

CliffordYota

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Apr '20
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
tryin to fix stiff pro comp suspension...
« on: Apr 04, 2020, 07:46:17 AM »
Im fairly new to the real crawler game and semi recently picked up a 1981 pickup with a 6in lift and 35s. the suspension is ridiculously stiff. It has pro comp explorer es1000 shock absorbers i believe. Is pro comp really that bad? I was thinking of doing bilsteins and some chevy 1500 leaf springs but i'm not totally sure what to do. the thing doesnt even want to flex over a lil mulch pile lol. I just would appreciate if someone could give me some nice soft 6in lift ideas.

Thanks,

toyodaaddict

• Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 410
  • Male Posts: 895
  • Member since Sep '08
    • View Profile
Re: tryin to fix stiff pro comp suspension...
« Reply #1 on: Apr 04, 2020, 11:13:21 AM »
 :welcome:
I started with pro comp springs on my 1980 and I would say yes, pro comp is that bad. I would recommend looking at AllPro springs or RUF (rears up front) and 63"chevys. Bilsein 5125's will work well with either setup.

If you go with AllPro I would recommend there 4" springs or maybe 5" with low profile front hanger and shorter shackles. A 6" spring combined with front hanger and shackles will be way tall. Generally you want to keep these trucks as low as possible to fit the size tire you're going to run.

https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/toyota-truck-4runner/20665-63-chevy-1-2-ton-spring-swap-faq.html

https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/toyota-truck-4runner/265669-rear-up-front-faq.html
80 shortbed-22re,w56,Marlin 23 spline dual cases,HighAngle drivelines,RUF/63"chevy's,35''mtr's,30 spline Longfields, Allpro highsteer.87 rear axle,5.29 gears,rear spool,BudBuilt cm, marlin HD clutch,ramsey 8000 winch. 
     https://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=101882.0

Rocksurfer

• Momentum Man