Author Topic: 1983: Reagan, The Police, Return of the Jedi, Hobie Cats & this Toyota truck.  (Read 12866 times)

toy_tek

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 25
  • Member since Feb '17
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
    • Instagram: toy_tek
The Toyota truck was one of the cooler things going on in 1983, right?  I was ten years old, impressionable, remember some good times... and always wanted a 4x4 with big tires.  Now I have two. 

This forum has been a great help already since I picked this running project up in late January this year.  Figured I'd use this thread to document what's getting done and hopefully get some input & ideas from knowledgeable enthusiasts. As a former aircraft mechanic, I like to try to fix things right the first time, so they last a long time. 

This is my 4th Toyota, previously had an 87 4x4 (rebuilt the 22re... twice), an 86 MR2 for a couple minutes, then 15 years ago I bought my 97 4Runner which has been significantly modded, wheeled, explored and DD over a large portion of the continental U.S., clocking 200k in that time. 

So the plan for this new-to-me 1983 SR5 is to keep it looking somewhat like it did when I got it (stockish), fix and/or update items & issues along the way, and basically keep it in service for the foreseeable future of internal combustion piston engines.  Plans include addition of 83-84 Celica EFI, or a possible 22RE or other 4 cylinder swap, addition of A/C, a modern invisible sound system (ok amp & speakers), some real bed tie-downs, and I'm sure I'll add to the list.