Author Topic: Project options & 20r vs 22r Opinions  (Read 5006 times)

lostbuckaroo

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 44
  • Member since Jan '14
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Project options & 20r vs 22r Opinions
« on: Feb 11, 2014, 10:11:26 AM »
First I'm completely new to the Crawler/Toyota stuff but I've done a fair ammount of research so .. I didn't think this qualified for the NEWB section.. I'm hoping you all agree. . and I don't get Flamed  :)

I know it's been asked many times before.. but everything I've found on the net has been old posts (20r vs. 22r) and I wanted to get some more 'current' opinions on my thinking/plans..

I picked up a 1980 Long bed.. Complete 20r, 4speed, tcase.. drivetrain body etc.. is all there. 

I also Picked up a 1984 Short bed, this thing is basically setup just needs an engine, and a few minor things..(has dual, cases, 5" TG lift in front, Chevy spring in rear, 5speed, and the list goes on and on)

I was planning on building out the 1980 as a Truggy project but the 84' was just too good a deal to pass up!

So now I have the two trucks. The 1980 is definitely worth something, the guy said he put a rebuilt engine in it but was having trouble with CA smog... The engine hasn't been started in over a year, but turns over, the oil is clean, coolant etc.. but I haven't had a chance to get it started yet. (hopefully today)

My thinking is this I could go two ways with this:

1. Get the 20r in 80' running and driving minimally and sell it... (use that $$$ for my 84')

2. Check the 20r in the 80' for viability, get it running, check compression etc. If the engine is good (as the seller stated) pull the 20r and put it in my 84'. (This would be a way for me to get my 84' running and get started , I can upgrade modify or change later) .. Then either keep the 80' for a future project, or sell it as a parts/project truck to the right buyer..