Author Topic: G54 Tcase on a W56C Trans?  (Read 2684 times)

nspohnholtz

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Male Posts: 12
  • Member since Sep '12
  • Don't tread on me
    • View Profile
G54 Tcase on a W56C Trans?
« on: Sep 14, 2012, 10:56:31 AM »
First things first.. Given this is my first post.
My name is Nick Spohnholtz I am a Aerospace Gear Machinist and I live and work in Lynnwood, WA
I own a 1987 Toyota pickup 22R with RV cam, weber 32 carb, and of course a seized G54 trans.

My question is specifically this:
Can I put my Tcase from my G4 on a W56-C trans, And what would this entail?

If this IS possible I will take pictures and write an in-depth guide and post it here exclusively.

Some insight:

I recently blew my engine and replaced it with a rebuilt 22R with RV cam. I traded in my emissions rigged stock carb for a weber 32. The PO had the engine and trans rebuild by a nobody mech shop in everett and the engine had just short of 32k on it before it blew two 5" holes in the block without warning.
Shortly after the engine replacement the 1st, 3rd, and 5th gear started whining, then popping out. I lost 1st gear and was barely holding 3rd (well actually I was holding it in pretty hard) and one day I shifted to 4th and it never came out.
I have a friend with a very well running W56-C that he is selling for $250 and I am on a tight  budget or I would be buying a rebuilt trans from Marlin. The only problem is I dont want to cut my floor to wedge the shifters in my already small truck. I have heard you can put a G54 tcase on this trans however no one has posted any for sure answer or guide that I can find.   

“The core skill of innovators is error recovery, not failure avoidance.” - Randy Nelson

H8PVMNT

• Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 452
  • Male Posts: 3,554
  • Member since May '07
  • I'LL NEVER MAKE IT...
    • View Profile
Re: G54 Tcase on a W56C Trans?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 14, 2012, 11:31:44 AM »