Author Topic: 00 Tacoma Release fork /Transmission and Clucth assembly problems 2  (Read 6335 times)

Dark Chaos

• Marlin Crawler
  • I used to Crawl. I still do, but I used to, too.
It is only two days away before my Toy goes into the shop for my Clutch assembly and Transmission woes. Upon inspection when I heard the squeak and difficulty shifting I immediately pulled off the road and noticed my Clutch release fork was shaking up and down I am not very experienced with Transmissions and I understand there has to be some play but I do not believe that this much play is needed to make the Clutch release fork shake like this. Experienced Toy mechanics please help.

Marlin

• Inspirational Genius
  • Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 138
  • Male Posts: 856
  • Member since Sep '02
  • MC³ = 1,148:1
    • View Profile
    • Marlin Crawler
The main cause of a shaking fork is due to warped, worn, or bent pressure plate fingers.
This could be caused by overheating the pressure plate due to abuse or when the trans was installed, the input shaft may of hit the fingers and bent then inward resulting in a uneven pressure plate height.

The flywheel could also have excessive runout. It can only be surfaced on a flywheel grinder by using the crankshaft hub area of the flywheel. Never attemp to surface a flywheel on a lathe. It will always have runout.

Marlin
1980 Toyota - 1997 3RZ-FE 2.7l Engine, Turbo R151F 4.31:1, Triple Turbo Marlin Crawler Billet (2.28x4.70x4.70) = 1,148:1 Crawl Ratio, Marlin Crawler Twin Stick and Short Throw Shift Kits, 30mm H/D Output Shaft, High Angle Drive Lines, 5.29:1, ARBs, High Pinion Front, 25mm HD Billet High Steer Kit, 6 Pin Locking Hub Bodies, 86+ Wide Rear End, V6 3rd member, Chromolly Axles all around, 37" IROKs with Beadlocks, York onboard air - Rollbar air tank, Premier Power Welder, Marlin Crawler 4" USA-made Leaf Springs, Bilstein Shocks, et cetera....

Dark Chaos

• Marlin Crawler