Author Topic: Ninja/ Yukon gears poor machining/ damaged straight out of the box  (Read 951 times)

slimbobaggins

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Dec '14
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Edit 2: MC quickly took care of everything, great customer service and no regrets here!

Edit: Have spoke with MC via email and they are working on things now with Yukon.  I mentioned missing parts, they showed up a couple days later in a separate box, so that's no issue.  The gears apparently came straight from Yukon so it was no fault on MC's
side.

Hi folks,

Diff-tober is kind of rocky for me today, got my shipment today, I ordered 5.29's but they sent me 4.56's for the front axle. 

I'm sure the folks at Marlin will make it right, but I decided to inspect the gears since they're here, and I'm shocked at the quality of the machining.  I'm no gear expert, but we do machine stuff at work and this kind of quality would never pass.  So, when I contact them about the wrong gears, I'm going to ask them to swap out the rear 5.29's they sent me as well.

Would you accept the shape of these gears? I already knew that Ninja gears were Yukons... maybe they're the Yukons that don't pass quality control?

The pinon from the rear 5.29 set has a pretty decent chunk missing from the edge of one tooth, and a couple small flat spots on a different tooth.  The 4.56 pinion has a good sharp dent, almost like it got poked, on the edge of one tooth.

Am I off base for thinking the machining on these gears is unacceptable?

Edit: Sent an email to MC through the website, waiting to hear back.
« Last Edit: Dec 08, 2022, 09:52:26 PM by slimbobaggins »

slimbobaggins [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Dec '14
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Chunk from the 5.29 pinion

slimbobaggins [OP]

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Member since Dec '14
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Side view of the 5.29 chunk

slimbobaggins [OP]