Author Topic: Battery won't charge  (Read 2815 times)

TALLMANBEAR

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Turtle Points: 0
  • Member since Jun '16
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
Battery won't charge
« on: Jun 21, 2016, 01:33:01 PM »
I just bought a 1983 toyota 4x4 pickup. I bought a new alternator and voltage regulater but it still won't charge the battery. My light is on in the dash showing my battery light. Put new battery in it think maybe it was bad but still won't charge. Any help would be great since I am new to the old style Toyota's. I have had 95 4 runners and newer but not one this old and I can't figure it out.

Sent from my SM-G900R4 using Tapatalk

Mudder

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: 3487
  • Member since May '15
    • View Profile
Re: Battery won't charge
« Reply #1 on: Jun 21, 2016, 03:55:41 PM »
I'd start by checking all the plugs throughout the alternator to engine wiring harness. One of the wires could've easily broken with its age. But before you do that start the truck and take a multimeter to the battery and see if your volts go up at all with it started

TALLMANBEAR [OP]

• Offline Dusty Trails
  • Member since Jun '16
  • Crawling with Marlin
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jun 21, 2016, 05:42:46 PM »
With it running it is show 11 volts with the battery hooked up. But if I pull the positive cable it dies like the alternator is bad.

OVRAROK

• Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 26739
  • Male Posts: 3,522
  • Member since Dec '10
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Jun 21, 2016, 05:59:20 PM »
with it running, have you tried to see volts at alternator, you may have a break in wire
Even the most primitive society, has an intimate respect for the insane.

Snowtoy

• Offline The 2.5K Group
  • Turtle Points: 1403
  • Male Posts: 2,583
  • Member since Sep '03
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Jun 21, 2016, 06:18:39 PM »