Author Topic: 22r to 5VZ  (Read 1749 times)

PLyota84

• Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 21
  • Member since Feb '11
    • View Profile
22r to 5VZ
« on: Nov 30, 2012, 04:22:46 PM »
Long story short, I blew up my 22R driving my rig 800 miles back to skool in Arcata from San Diego. So instead of rebuilding the little 4 banger now and swapping it out in the future i figure its time to bite the bullet.

I found a rolled 2001 4runner v6 4x4 5 speed as a a donor (what more could i ask for right?). my plan is to swap as much from the 4runner as possible to avoid wiring confusion(i have NO previous experience) Now my question to all the engine gurus out there is what parts will i need to buy aftermarket or fab to complete this swap that i wont be able to pull off the donor truck?(tranny mounts, crossmember,driveshafts, etc...) Is there anything major  i should be aware of before jumping into this conversion? and am i biting off more than i can chew by doing this swap?

I am willing to put in the work and hours to get it done just want to make sure i dont get halfway done only to have a major speed bump get in the way. I am a college student, so budget is tight and this is all depending on if i can get help from the local 4x4 shop as i have No fab tools up here yet.
Heres the beast in question
STOLEN!!! 84 SR5 XtraCab, 22r, stock cases:(, 5.29s ARB F&R HP/V6, 35" MTRs w/ Kevlar, 15x8 black steelies, Caged and Armored

tgmaul88

• Offline 4WD Legend
  • Turtle Points: 30
  • Male Posts: 985
  • Member since Feb '12
  • Im still alive
    • View Profile
Re: 22r to 5VZ
« Reply #1 on: Nov 30, 2012, 07:44:42 PM »
dude Sweet Rig!!!!!!!!!! freakin awesome!  yeah thats to nice to be half way into a swap and not be able to get it done, there are some heavy duty build threads on pirate but a lot here that know the info

H8PVMNT

• Offline Silver Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 452
  • Male Posts: 3,554
  • Member since May '07
  • I'LL NEVER MAKE IT...