Author Topic: **Built 22re** Need Experienced Engine Help  (Read 10971 times)

Jason E.

• Offline Rock Master
  • Turtle Points: 317
  • Male Posts: 136
  • Member since Jun '13
  • Yeah yeah, I know I know. License and Registration
    • View Profile
    • Buy me a beer
Re: **Built 22re** Need Experienced Engine Help
« on: Jan 15, 2019, 06:25:20 PM »
I'm no expert on anything but aren't the knock sensor and O2 sensor kinda important-ish to making a fuel injected engine run right? I've been told that a 22RE will not run well without a knock sensor

It ran without a knock sensor. But yes. Not well. Ran brand new wire and sensor this morning

From what I believe the ECU does if the mama ECU does not detect the signals that she is expecting  to get, she's not going to be happy and the question is what is her default position regarding Fuel and ignition timing to that engine when she does not get all of her sensor inputs.

I agree completely. Thats why im back tracking my issues as I see them come up

just to make sure, you said you are running a 93 22re. are you also using 93 injectors, sensors and a 93 ecu?

Yes. 1993 Red Top Injectors, ECU, and Harness

How do you know FOR SURE that it is running overly rich? Backfiring and poping could be from running lean, and the fouled looking plugs could be from the rings not seated. I don't know the spec but if you say your fuel pressure is low, and you run a ported head, bigger cam, header a bit higher comp on the stock ECU it would be obvious to me that it is running in fact lean. You say you are throwing more fuel with the cam and ported head but you are in fact allowing more air, and with a primitive ECU to control air/fuel ratio, it has narrow parameters to adjust, even though MAF (mass air flow) equipped EFI is usually more forgiving of increased airflow. Have you checked for a vacuum leak with brake cleaner or similar fluid? Does the ecu throw a code?