Author Topic: Electric Fan  (Read 4421 times)

BigMike

• Administrator
  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • Turtle Points: 2205
  • Male Posts: 18,292
  • Member since Apr '02
  • 511:1 Club
    • View Profile
    • Bone-Stock Plane-Jane 1981 Shortbed Pickup
Re: Electric Fan
« on: Jun 05, 2013, 01:46:05 PM »
another reason to use an electric fan is that if you plan on doing deep water crossings an electric fan can be switched off prior to diving in
Definitely a big plus.

I run an electric fan and am a big proponent of them. If you're worried about reliability, keep in mind most cars on the road run electric fans including the Toyota Corolla and Ford Focus, the two most popular automobiles in the world today. I've been running a junkyard fan in my Crawler since 2004 and it has yet to let me down. In my experience, if you are going to do this then the only way to go is with a variable fan speed controller and I would not be running an e-fan is this was not available.

Allow me to explain. Typical setups run an ON-OFF adjustable thermostat that turns the fan on or off based on the temperature of your radiator (or upper radiator hose). The problem with this is that high performance fans, like Flex-a-lite's 15" Black Magic, pull around 14 amps continuous and probably closer to 20 amps during start or spin-up. Twenty amps is a huge sudden load on your electrical system, and what you'll experience is the following:
  • Thermostat reads high temps and turns the fan on at full power
  • This causes an electrical "shock" causing your engine idle to surge as your alternator takes on a sizable load
  • Fan speeds up to 2,000+ RPM generating a lot of noise
  • Fan runs at maximum speed drawing a ton of air through your radiator which quickly drops the engine's temperature
  • Temp drops and the thermostat switches the fan off
  • Its quiet and your charging system has stabilized