Author Topic: Servo twitch question  (Read 2976 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dirtybird

  • Offline Rock Master
  • ***
  • Turtle Points: 3
  • Male Posts: 166
  • Member since Aug '11
Servo twitch question
« on: Apr 26, 2012, 09:34:18 PM »
I have 2 ax10's one that is stock (my wife's ) and mine that has a few mods. One being a hitec titanium gear servo I think 7955 or something like that. My question is when I turn the steering twitches pretty bad and was wondering if anybody knew what that was? The rest ofthe electronics are stock and my wife's that is completely stock has no problems at all. They've only been used a handful of times. Any info would be appreciated

santa cruz crawler

  • Offline Crawler Guru
  • ****
  • Turtle Points: -7
  • Male Posts: 682
  • Member since Aug '10
  • Get Some
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #1 on: Apr 26, 2012, 10:30:08 PM »
Mabe your reciever is to close to the esc , causing the rx to catch part of the esc comunications
Better said.   Your esc and reciever have to be far apart , or they interrupt each other !!
Rc crawler .com lots of info just like marlin

86rustbucket

  • Offline The 1K Club
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 5
  • Posts: 1,328
  • Member since Jun '09
    • Buy me a soda
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #2 on: Apr 26, 2012, 11:19:41 PM »
I have a 7954 and it acts the same way.  I searched a little and I guess its normal.   

dirtybird [OP]

  • Offline Rock Master
  • ***
  • Turtle Points: 3
  • Male Posts: 166
  • Member since Aug '11
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2012, 05:59:44 PM »
when it was new it didnt do that and i have the reciever on one end of the vehicle and the speed control on the other thanks though  i will check out rc crawler.com

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2012, 03:21:55 PM »
The reason your servo is twitching is cause your ESC (electronic speed control) isn't supplying your servo with enough power, basically your servo is starving. The best thing you can do is buy a 20$ BEC or buy a 6$ glitch buster.. If you have an open spot on your receiver then just get the glitch buster and plug it in :). The other option is the BEC witch you can have programmed to the proper voltage your servo needs and will take some solder for install.. Hope this helped

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2012, 03:30:37 PM »
Oh, and the BEC is made by Castle.. With the instal of it you will need to disconnect your stock BEC that is already installed interaly on your ESC, just disconnect the red wire on the receiver plug. the castle BEC is what will power your rig and properly supply your servo with the power it needs.

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Servo twitch question
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2012, 03:36:36 PM »



Braswell91

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 48
  • Member since Oct '12
  • follow me! if ya got big enough nuts!
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #7 on: Oct 06, 2012, 11:57:37 PM »
The reason your servo is twitching is cause your ESC (electronic speed control) isn't supplying your servo with enough power, basically your servo is starving. The best thing you can do is buy a 20$ BEC or buy a 6$ glitch buster.. If you have an open spot on your receiver then just get the glitch buster and plug it in :). The other option is the BEC witch you can have programmed to the proper voltage your servo needs and will take some solder for install.. Hope this helped

Id say you nailed that one on the head! My buddy had a wraith that did the same thing and we bought the bec and wired it in and he ended up swappin to a dual lipo set up on a new esc and kept using the BEC. its a good investment!
if ya cant pork a princess, pound a pig!!!
Lower the standards, raise the average!


ROLL TIDE

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Servo twitch question
« Reply #8 on: Oct 11, 2012, 09:14:07 PM »
Id say you nailed that one on the head! My buddy had a wraith that did the same thing and we bought the bec and wired it in and he ended up swappin to a dual lipo set up on a new esc and kept using the BEC. its a good investment!

Yeah it's the best investment to have the proper power to a servo. Most servos will require about 6v to around 7.4v. Depending on what the max input is you'll have the max amount of torque :). Most ESC will only supply around 5v. I run a BEC on my comp rig and my wraith.  Be carful tho, it's an addiction haha



Braswell91

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 48
  • Member since Oct '12
  • follow me! if ya got big enough nuts!
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #9 on: Oct 11, 2012, 09:51:35 PM »
Yeah it's the best investment to have the proper power to a servo. Most servos will require about 6v to around 7.4v. Depending on what the max input is you'll have the max amount of torque :). Most ESC will only supply around 5v. I run a BEC on my comp rig and my wraith.  Be carful tho, it's an addiction haha




Clean set ups!! Diggin the wraiths body panels...aluminum??
if ya cant pork a princess, pound a pig!!!
Lower the standards, raise the average!


ROLL TIDE

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Servo twitch question
« Reply #10 on: Oct 11, 2012, 10:52:47 PM »
Clean set ups!! Diggin the wraiths body panels...aluminum??

Nope just the stock lexan plastic body panels. Custom paint job tho

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Servo twitch question
« Reply #11 on: Oct 11, 2012, 10:55:58 PM »


Braswell91

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 48
  • Member since Oct '12
  • follow me! if ya got big enough nuts!
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #12 on: Oct 12, 2012, 01:49:33 AM »
Im diggin it! The losi is rockin a vette z06 body till i find one i like to paint....but rc's are on the back burner till i get me a yota rig and slightly build it! No pics of it with the vette body yet though  :down:
if ya cant pork a princess, pound a pig!!!
Lower the standards, raise the average!


ROLL TIDE

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Servo twitch question
« Reply #13 on: Oct 12, 2012, 06:40:16 AM »
Im diggin it! The losi is rockin a vette z06 body till i find one i like to paint....but rc's are on the back burner till i get me a yota rig and slightly build it! No pics of it with the vette body yet though  :down:

Lookin good dude. What size is that rig? 18th scale or 1/10th scale?

Braswell91

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 48
  • Member since Oct '12
  • follow me! if ya got big enough nuts!
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #14 on: Oct 12, 2012, 05:05:17 PM »
Its a 10th scale...good ol losi nightcrawler..got it on sale with my sweet spektrum radio for right at $250....they had to rob the receiver and old remote for a in store warranty for someone else...so they marked it way down and threw in the radio for free!!
if ya cant pork a princess, pound a pig!!!
Lower the standards, raise the average!


ROLL TIDE

jimbo74

  • Offline Gold Turtle Award
  • *
  • Turtle Points: 1421
  • Male Posts: 8,696
  • Member since Sep '05
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #15 on: Oct 12, 2012, 05:10:56 PM »
a capacitor or glitch buster, and an external bec should solve your issue



also, is your servo analog and he radio system digital? that also causes some compatibility issues sometimes....
:usa:

The cost of freedom is always high, but Americans have always paid it. And one path we shall never choose, and that is the path of surrender, or submission.

~ John F. Kennedy ~

Hamsters83

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: -25
  • Male Posts: 76
  • Member since Jan '07
Servo twitch question
« Reply #16 on: Oct 13, 2012, 02:52:32 PM »
Its a 10th scale...good ol losi nightcrawler..got it on sale with my sweet spektrum radio for right at $250....they had to rob the receiver and old remote for a in store warranty for someone else...so they marked it way down and threw in the radio for free!!

Gotta love hobby stores, they always know how to swing the good deals.

Braswell91

  • Offline Rock Crawl'n
  • **
  • Turtle Points: 1
  • Male Posts: 48
  • Member since Oct '12
  • follow me! if ya got big enough nuts!
Re: Servo twitch question
« Reply #17 on: Oct 13, 2012, 04:59:50 PM »
Indeed they do! especially the one i use its a home run store by some great people that help ya out and are straight up....i send so many people to em and they cut me deals all the time or free stuff like much needed body pins or a nimh charger!
if ya cant pork a princess, pound a pig!!!
Lower the standards, raise the average!


ROLL TIDE

 
 
 
 
 

Related Topics

4 Replies
2054 Views
Last post Apr 20, 2003, 04:06:00 PM
by 84runner
1 Replies
1192 Views
Last post Mar 29, 2006, 03:51:46 PM
by BigMike
19 Replies
4264 Views
Last post Aug 24, 2006, 06:42:02 PM
by Ewong
8 Replies
1915 Views
Last post Dec 26, 2007, 08:02:23 AM
by Gewehr43
11 Replies
3053 Views
Last post Oct 12, 2012, 06:43:07 AM
by Hamsters83